Unemployment aid available for Isaac victims

Sep 4, 2012

People living in Louisiana parishes or Mississippi counties approved for individual aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and who have lost work because of the storm are eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

In Louisiana, the parishes are Ascension, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. John the Baptist, and St. Tammany. In Mississippi, the counties are Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Pearl River.

Louisiana's Joint Information Center says the unemployment aid is for people whose jobs have been lost or interrupted because of the disaster in the parishes counties eligible for FEMA's individual disaster.