Saints Release 53-Man Roster, Announce Cuts

Aug 31, 2013

The New Orleans Saints have released their 53-man roster, making the final cuts to their preseason cadre of players as the team prepares to start the regular season.

There are a couple of surprises, including the release of wide receiver Courtney Roby and defensive end Jay Richardson, but the cast of the team remains largely the same.

The Saints full 2013-14 regular season roster can be found here.

Richardson responded to fans’ well-wishes on Twitter after the news broke, thanking them for their support:

The full list of players waived to make the 53-man roster:

  • Wide Receiver Courtney Roby
  • Defensive End Jay Richardson
  • Cornerback Chris Carr
  • Safety Jim Leonhard
  • Quarterback Ryan Griffin
  • Wide Receiver Preston Parker
  • Fullback Austin Johnson
  • Receiver Saalim Hakim
  • Guard Elliott Mealer
  • Tight End Keavon Milton
  • Tight End Michael Higgins
  • Guard Andrew Tiller
  • Center Jeremiah Warren
  • Inside Linebacker Ray Shipman
  • Outside Linebacker Rufus Johnson
  • Nose Tackle Isaako Aaitui
  • Safety Jerico Nelson
  • Outside Linebacker Baraka Atkins
  • Tackle Marcel Jones
  • Cornerback Korey Lindsey
  • Cornerback Jumal Rolle
  • Center Eric Olsen was placed on Injured Reserve