Super Bowl Referees Named

Jan 30, 2013

The officiating crew for this year's Super Bowl was announced by the NFL this morning.

Referee Jerome Boger will lead the seven-man crew this Sunday. Boger was promoted to referee in 2006, and has been an NFL game official for nine seasons. This is his first Super Bowl appearance, but he has previously officiated four divisional playoff games.

Boger will be joined by umpire Darrell Jenkins, head linesman Steve Stelljes, line judge Byron Boston, field judge Craig Wrolstad, side judge Joe Larrew and back judge Dion Paganelli. The Super Bowl XLVII officiating crew has 77 years of combined NFL experience and 50 combined playoff game assignments, according to the NFL.

"We congratulate Jerome and his entire crew on being assigned to work at Super Bowl XLVII, said NFL Vice President of Officiating Carl Johnson. "Just like the two competing teams, every member of this officiating crew has had an outstanding season and earned this honor. We are confident that they will have a great game on Sunday."

The NFL selects Super Bowl officials based on an evaluation system, with the highest-rated officials at each position selected to work the big game. Super Bowl officials must have at least five years' NFL officiating experience and previous playoff assignments, the NFL said.

"This is a well-deserved honor for each member of the crew, " said NFL Referees Association Executive Director Tim Millis. "Every NFLRA member wishes them the best of luck officiating an outstanding Super Bowl game."

Line judge Boston has the most postseason playoff experience by far of the officiating crew — he's worked 16 playoff games in his 18 seasons with the league.

Bill Spyksma will be Super Bowl XLVII's replay official. Terry Sullivan will be the replay assistant.