New Orleans La http://wwno.org en Celebrities Head to New Orleans for Essence Fest http://wwno.org/post/celebrities-head-new-orleans-essence-fest <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Former Cosby kid Tempestt Bledsoe and singer Vanessa Williams are among the celebrities in New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. Essence Fest is one of the premier music festivals celebrating black culture and music.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 16:01:22 +0000 The Associated Press 15226 at http://wwno.org Vilma Asks Judge to Vacate NFL Suspension http://wwno.org/post/vilma-asks-judge-vacate-nfl-suspension <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Suspended Saints linebacker Jonathan Vilma has amended his lawsuit against NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and the league, asking a federal judge in New Orleans to overturn his suspension and issue a preliminary injunction that would allow Vilma to work while the case is pending.</p><p>Vilma&#39;s latest legal maneuver Thursday came shortly after Goodell filed a motion to dismiss Vilma&#39;s defamation claims in connection with the league&#39;s bounty investigation.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 15:54:50 +0000 The Associated Press 15218 at http://wwno.org Southern Baptists: Gay Rights Not Civil Rights http://wwno.org/post/southern-baptists-gay-rights-not-civil-rights <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; A day after electing their first African-American president , Southern Baptists have passed a resolution opposing the idea that same-sex marriage is a civil rights issue. Thousands of delegates meeting in New Orleans were nearly unanimous on that stance Wednesday.</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2012 15:25:13 +0000 The Associated Press 14314 at http://wwno.org Biden: Romney Out of Touch With 'Ordinary' People http://wwno.org/post/biden-romney-out-touch-ordinary-people <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Vice President <font color="red">Joe</font>&nbsp;<font color="red">Biden</font> tells a gathering of black journalists that Republican presidential challenger Mitt Romney&#39;s economic platform shows he is out of touch with the nation&#39;s middle class. <font color="red">Biden</font> made the remarks last night at a National Association of Black Journalists convention in New Orleans.</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2012 15:14:16 +0000 The Associated Press 14311 at http://wwno.org Saints President To Take Same Role With Hornets http://wwno.org/post/saints-president-take-same-role-hornets <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Hornets President Hugh Weber is leaving the NBA club as new owner Tom Benson appoints top Saints executives Dennis Lauscha and Mickey Loomis to oversee both teams. The change, made official on Monday afternoon, puts Lauscha in charge of both clubs&#39; business operations.</p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 17:14:27 +0000 Diane Mack 14096 at http://wwno.org Hargrove Agent: NFL's Bounty Probe About Semantics http://wwno.org/post/hargrove-agent-nfls-bounty-probe-about-semantics <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; The agent for suspended defensive lineman Anthony Hargrove says the NFL has used semantics, but not hard evidence, as the basis for punishing Saints players in its bounty investigation. In a statement, agent Phil Williams questions whether the NFL made Hargrove a central figure in its investigation because his past drug suspensions made him an &quot;easy target.&quot;</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 14:31:44 +0000 The Associated Press 13978 at http://wwno.org Retail Theft Prevention Conference Set for New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/retail-theft-prevention-conference-set-new-orleans <p>&nbsp;</p><p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; The National Retail Federation holds a conference in New Orleans next week that will focus on preventing shoplifting and other crimes.</p><p>The annual &quot;Loss Prevention Conference and Expo&quot; is scheduled for June 20. The NRF says the conference will bring more than 2,700 senior retail loss prevention executives and their business partners to the city.</p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:35:06 +0000 The Associated Press 13693 at http://wwno.org Hotel Implosion Set for July http://wwno.org/post/hotel-implosion-set-july <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; After months of delays, the planned demolition of the Pallas Hotel on Canal Street in New Orleans has been set. State contractors are scheduled July 22 to implode the vacant hotel.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Fri, 08 Jun 2012 14:34:13 +0000 The Associated Press 13196 at http://wwno.org Stadium Flap to Play Out at Tulane Forum http://wwno.org/post/stadium-flap-play-out-tulane-forum <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; A debate in New Orleans over whether Tulane University should be allowed to build a new football stadium is about to play out on campus.</p><p>Tulane has set a Wednesday night forum on the issue.</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 15:06:01 +0000 The Associated Press 12997 at http://wwno.org New Orleans' Super Bowl Hosts to Gain Sponsor http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-super-bowl-hosts-gain-sponsor <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Officials are expected to make a sponsorship announcement at a news conference tonight for the Super Bowl Host Committee Volunteer Services Program. The news conference was to include representatives from the New Orleans Saints and the Greater New Orleans Sports Foundation.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 23 May 2012 14:36:19 +0000 The Associated Press 11828 at http://wwno.org