Drew Brees http://wwno.org en Brees Wants to Bury Bounty Probe, Help New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/brees-wants-bury-bounty-probe-help-new-orleans <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Drew Brees says the Saints are ready to put the bounty scandal "to bed," be gracious&nbsp;<font color="red">Super</font>&nbsp;<font color="red">Bowl</font>&nbsp;hosts and look forward to next season.</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 18:25:12 +0000 The Associated Press 28275 at http://wwno.org Brees Eclipses 5,000 yards for Third Time http://wwno.org/post/brees-eclipses-5000-yards-third-time <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Drew Brees has passed for more than 5,000 yards, making him the only player to do so in a season three times.</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2013 19:46:21 +0000 The Associated Press 26102 at http://wwno.org Brees' Franchise Tag Arbitration Hearing Held http://wwno.org/post/brees-franchise-tag-arbitration-hearing-held <p>PHILADELPHIA &mdash; NFL Players Association attorney Jeffrey Kessler says an arbitrator expects to rule within a week on arguments presented concerning the Saints&#39; use of the NFL&#39;s franchise tag on quarterback Drew Brees.</p><p>Arbitrator Stephen Burbank is handling the matter of how to interpret language in the NFL&#39;s collective bargaining agreement, which requires any club that designates a player as a franchise player for the third time to give him a 44 percent raise.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 15:04:01 +0000 The Associated Press 14766 at http://wwno.org Brees Hopeful of Long-Term Deal With Saints http://wwno.org/post/brees-hopeful-long-term-deal-saints <p>NEW YORK &mdash; New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees says he&#39;s confident he&#39;ll get a long-term deal done with the Saints. Brees acknowledged Tuesday that the offseason of distractions has slowed down negotiations. On the subject of those off-field issues, he says the NFL has produced no proof the Saints&#39; defense engaged in a bounty system.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Wed, 27 Jun 2012 14:30:41 +0000 The Associated Press 14685 at http://wwno.org Saints Upbeat Despite Brees' Absence http://wwno.org/post/saints-upbeat-despite-brees-absence <p>The New Orleans Saints say they have the experience and leadership to have productive offseason practices even without their star quarterback. New Orleans is holding its first three offseason practices, called organized team activities, Tuesday through Thursday. Drew Brees is still holding out for a new contract.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 14:36:52 +0000 The Associated Press 11721 at http://wwno.org Brees Critical of Saints in Radio Interview http://wwno.org/post/brees-critical-saints-radio-interview <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Drew Brees says he&#39;s frustrated by a lack of communication with the New Orleans Saints in his ongoing contract negotiations and believes the club should show more urgency to get a long-term deal done.</p><p>In an interview with WWL radio in New Orleans on Wednesday night, Brees says he&#39;s extremely frustrated that he still is not signed and could miss the Saints&#39; first organized offseason practices next week.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 17 May 2012 14:42:46 +0000 The Associated Press 11320 at http://wwno.org Saints Offseason Workouts Underway http://wwno.org/post/saints-offseason-workouts-underway <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Offseason workouts are getting underway on Monday for the New Orleans Saints and Drew Brees still hasn&#39;t committed to showing up. The star quarterback is looking for a long-term contract extension, while the team has slapped him with the franchise tag. That amounts to a one-year deal with no long-term security in the case of an injury.</p><p>&nbsp;</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 17:41:33 +0000 The Associated Press 8838 at http://wwno.org