northshore http://wwno.org en St. Tammany Hospital Says It Hired District Attorney Reed http://wwno.org/post/st-tammany-hospital-says-it-hired-district-attorney-reed <p style="line-height: 11.25pt; background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial;"><span style="font-size:9.5pt; font-family:&quot;Verdana&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;color:#333333">There’s more controversy surrounding the work duties of St. Tammany District Attorney Walter Reed.<o:p></o:p></span></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 12:46:26 +0000 Associated Press 65392 at http://wwno.org Opponents Continue Fight Against St. Tammany Parish Fracking Proposal http://wwno.org/post/opponents-continue-fight-against-st-tammany-parish-fracking-proposal <p>While critics of a proposed hydraulic fracturing project in Mandeville appeared at a state hearing in Baton Rouge, a lawsuit was filed in a nearby courtroom to stop the plan.</p><p>The New Orleans Advocate is reporting that the state Department of Natural Resources is considering a permit requested by Helis Oil and Gas. The hearing focused on whether the 960-acre parcel north of Interstate 12 is large enough to handle the process known as fracking.</p><p>The St. Tammany Parish Council is filing a lawsuit claiming the project can’t be done on land zoned for residential use.</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:07:29 +0000 Eileen Fleming 62814 at http://wwno.org Helis Oil & Gas Agrees To A Phased Approach To Fracking In St. Tammany http://wwno.org/post/helis-oil-gas-agrees-phased-approach-fracking-st-tammany <p>Helis Oil &amp; Gas Company has agreed to a phased approach to its project in St.&nbsp;Tammany, starting only with a conventional vertical well, the Times-Picayune reports.</p><p>St. Tammany Parish officials announced the scaled-back plans Tuesday afternoon.</p><p>The proposal calls for Helis to drill down 13,000 feet vertically, and to analyze the findings over three to four months. &nbsp;</p><p>The company has agreed to proceed with hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, only if commercially-viable quantities of oil are found to be present.</p> Tue, 13 May 2014 22:23:12 +0000 Janaya Williams 60682 at http://wwno.org Northshore Vets Receive Local Help http://wwno.org/post/northshore-vets-receive-local-help <p class="p1"><em>When injured veterans returning to their homes from Iraq and Afghanistan weren’t finding the help they needed, one Northshore resident set out to correct the problem.</em></p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 13:30:00 +0000 George Bonnett 49937 at http://wwno.org Northshore 'Kids Wanna Help' — So They Launch A Network Of Nonprofits http://wwno.org/post/northshore-kids-wanna-help-so-they-launch-network-nonprofits <p>What happens when very motivated adolescents decide they want to help better their community, but they’re not satisfied with how kids fit into the current non-profit scene? In the case of two&nbsp;Northshore teenagers, they simply started their own.</p> Sun, 24 Nov 2013 23:04:31 +0000 George Bonnett 48799 at http://wwno.org James Storehouse Helping Foster Kids On The Northshore http://wwno.org/post/james-storehouse-helping-foster-kids-northshore <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">There is a term in foster care called &ldquo;aging out.&rdquo; That is when a child becomes to old to be part of the foster care system any longer and, ready or not, must become self-sufficient. A new non-profit group on the </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">N</span>orthshore<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> aims to help those kids in that transition.</span></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 13:30:00 +0000 George Bonnett 46148 at http://wwno.org Boil Water Advisory In Effect For St. Tammany Subdivision http://wwno.org/post/boil-water-advisory-effect-st-tammany-subdivision <p>A boil water advisory is in effect for the Lexington Place subdivision, adjacent to Highway 59 in St. Tammany Parish.</p><p>The parish says construction crews broke through a water main serving the subdivision at approximately 2 p.m. on Wednesday. Tammany&nbsp;utilities had to turn off the water to begin repairing the main, prompting the advisory.</p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 21:29:15 +0000 Jason Saul 46141 at http://wwno.org Habitat For Humanity Women's Build Underway In St. Tammany http://wwno.org/post/habitat-humanity-womens-build-underway-st-tammany <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Habitat for Humanity builds houses on the </span>Northshore<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. This month, their construction crews look a bit different than usual.</span></p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 13:00:00 +0000 George Bonnett 45163 at http://wwno.org Three Rivers Art Festival Gearing Up On Northshore http://wwno.org/post/three-rivers-art-festival-gearing-northshore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In the 1990’s, several </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">N</span>orthshore<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> organizations banded together to create a new festival focusing on the arts. What they started, the <a href="http://www.threeriversartfestival.com/" target="_blank">Three Rivers Art Festival</a>, is now in its </span>17<sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> year. Diane Winston is the festival’s chairman.</span></p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 13:30:00 +0000 George Bonnett 43766 at http://wwno.org Northshore Focus: Volunteers Of America Teams Up For Suicide Prevention http://wwno.org/post/northshore-focus-volunteers-america-teams-suicide-prevention <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">In the past three years combined, St. </span>Tammany<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Parish has had 13 homicides. During that same period of time, more than 100 residents committed suicide. Rebecca </span>Thees<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> with </span><a href="http://www.voagno.org/Landing.aspx" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Volunteers of America</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has been on the front line of the parish’s efforts to curb this growing crisis.</span></p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 15:00:07 +0000 George Bonnett 40369 at http://wwno.org