Orleans Parish Prison http://wwno.org en Panel Reports Improvements In New Orleans Jail Fire Safety http://wwno.org/post/panel-reports-improvements-new-orleans-jail-fire-safety <div style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; line-height: 15px;"><p>A federal court-appointed panel is reporting progress in improving fire safety at a section of the New Orleans jail.</p><p>In a report filed at the court Monday, the panel said padlocks on some doors in a holding area known as "the docks" have been replaced with key locks installed in the doors. The padlocks were considered a fire safety hazard.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 12:25:02 +0000 The Associated Press 61871 at http://wwno.org Temporary Agreement Reached For Orleans Parish Prison http://wwno.org/post/temporary-agreement-reached-orleans-parish-prison <p>Lawyers for the city of New Orleans and Orleans Parish Sheriff Marlin Gusman have reached an agreement, for now, on how to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars to reform the city’s violent jail.<br /><br />The sheriff’s office is under federal court order to improve conditions at the jail.<br /><br />Today’s agreement covers about one-quarter of nearly $1.9 million provided last year for extra security, medical workers and pay raises for staff at the current jail.<br /> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:01:28 +0000 Associated Press 58789 at http://wwno.org Paying For Prison Consent Decree Big Question In Proposed New Orleans Budget http://wwno.org/post/paying-prison-consent-decree-big-question-proposed-new-orleans-budget <p class="p1">Mayor Mitch Landrieu&rsquo;s 2014 city budget proposal is complete and ready for City Council review, but there is still one big question mark.</p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 17:39:22 +0000 Charles Maldonado 46105 at http://wwno.org Jail Funding Battle Heads To Federal Court http://wwno.org/post/jail-funding-battle-heads-federal-court <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The New Orleans criminal justice system will be center stage at federal court proceedings set to begin this week. The city argues it can’t pay for fixing the police department and jail at the same time.</span></p><p> Mon, 10 Jun 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 37111 at http://wwno.org City Files For Receivership Of Orleans Parish Prison http://wwno.org/post/city-files-receivership-orleans-parish-prison <p>The City of New Orleans formally petitioned the U.S. District Court in New Orleans to place a federal receiver&nbsp;in charge of the Orleans Parish Prison complex and related facilities, Mayor Mitch Landrieu's&nbsp;office announced Tuesday evening.</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 23:41:23 +0000 Jason Saul 32928 at http://wwno.org Sheriff Gusman Spars With Mayor Landrieu Over Jail Conditions http://wwno.org/post/sheriff-gusman-spars-mayor-landrieu-over-jail-conditions <p>Sheriff Marlin Gusman spent six hours testifying at the federal court hearing over a consent decree to reform his jail. He then took aim at his critics at a news conference. Fri, 05 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 32585 at http://wwno.org Sheriff Gusman Fires Back At Jail Critics http://wwno.org/post/sheriff-gusman-fires-back-jail-critics <p>The sheriff in charge of the overcrowded and violent New Orleans jail is firing back at critics.&nbsp;Sheriff Marlin&nbsp;Gusman&nbsp;favors a federal consent decree, while Mayor Mitch Landrieu says a federal receiver should be in charge. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 23:37:30 +0000 Eileen Fleming 32584 at http://wwno.org Mayor Landrieu Wants Federal Monitor to Operate City Jail http://wwno.org/post/mayor-landrieu-wants-federal-monitor-operate-city-jail <p>New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu is outlining his plan for state legislation to help the city. He’s asking the federal government — not the state — to help reform the troubled city jail. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 32535 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Jail Violence Detailed in Federal Court Hearings http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-jail-violence-detailed-federal-court-hearings <p>Problems at the New Orleans jail are being revealed in graphic testimony under way in federal court.&nbsp;A judge is hearing what’s wrong with jail management, and what’s the solution. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 32415 at http://wwno.org Full Text of Mayor Mitch Landrieu's Consent Decree Presentation http://wwno.org/post/full-text-mayor-mitch-landrieus-consent-decree-presentation <p>Mayor Mitch Landrieu outlined dire circumstances on the horizon in an emergency meeting of the New Orleans City Council Thursday morning, warning that the city will be forced to drastically cut services and furlough public safety employees if they adhere to the U.S. Department of Justice's consent decree mandating changes at the Orleans Parish jail complex.</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?client=mv-google&amp;hl=en&amp;gl=US&amp;v=Pevd67i8jn4&amp;nomobile=1</p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 16:35:34 +0000 Jason Saul 32149 at http://wwno.org