Environment http://wwno.org en Louisiana Highway 1: The Wild Game Supper Of Larose http://wwno.org/post/louisiana-highway-1-wild-game-supper-larose <p>Louisiana Highway 1, or just LA-1, is the longest continuous road in the state, running from the northeast corner down to Grand Isle. One particular stretch of it poses a particular challenge: as coastal erosion and sea level rise continue at rapid rates in southern Louisiana, LA-1 is more consistently flooded. This leaves residents and anyone who needs to travel the road inconvenienced at best, and in peril at worst.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 13:40:00 +0000 Eve Troeh 59068 at http://wwno.org Telltale Rainbow Sheens Show Thousands Of Spills Across The Gulf http://wwno.org/post/telltale-rainbow-sheens-show-thousands-spills-across-gulf Jonathan Henderson of New Orleans-based Gulf Restoration Network is flying Louisiana's coast looking for oil. As usual, he's found some.<p>"I just noticed something out of the corner of my eye that looks like a sheen that had some form to it," he says. "We're going to go take a closer look and see if there's a rainbow sheen."<p>It's a target-rich environment for Henderson, because more than 54,000 wells were planted in and off this coast — part of the 300,000 wells in the state. They're connected by thousands of miles of pipelines, all vulnerable to leaks.<p>And leak they do. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 15:40:00 +0000 Bob Marshall 58903 at http://wwno.org The Green Minute: Myths Of Recycling, Part One http://wwno.org/post/green-minute-myths-recycling-part-one <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Orleans has had curbside recycling for a few years now, but many people are still skeptical that the city is actually recycling what we leave out for pick up. Do you think that everything you place into your recycling bin is going straight to the trash?</span></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Christal White 58776 at http://wwno.org Barataria Bay, 4 Years After The Deepwater Horizon Disaster http://wwno.org/post/barataria-bay-4-years-after-deepwater-horizon-disaster <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Sunday’s four-year anniversary&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">of the BP oil spill&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">approaches, environmental groups headed out into one of the areas most heavily oiled in the disaster. There, they looked at what effects that oil could be having on wetlands, and inspected the latest damage from coastal erosion, ongoing before and after the spill.</span></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 12:30:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 58605 at http://wwno.org As La. Coast Recedes, Battle Rages Over Who Should Pay http://wwno.org/post/la-coast-recedes-battle-rages-over-who-should-pay Louisiana's coast is disappearing at the rate of about a football field an hour. Since the 1930s, the Gulf of Mexico has swallowed up an area the size of Delaware.<p>You can see the water encroaching in Delacroix in St. Bernard Parish, less than an hour southeast of New Orleans. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 58613 at http://wwno.org For The First Time In 70 Years, Wild Whooping Cranes Have Laid Eggs In Louisiana http://wwno.org/post/first-time-70-years-wild-whooping-cranes-have-laid-eggs-louisiana <p>A mated pair of Whooping Cranes has produced eggs in the Louisiana wild for the first time in 70 years, the state Department of Wildlife and Fisheries announced Tuesday.</p><p>The announcement, made by LDWF Secretary Robert Barham at the 13th North American Crane Workshop in Lafayette, is a watershed moment in the reintroduction of the endangered birds to the wild. Once widespread, the Whooping Crane population had plummeted to just 21 total birds by the 1940s, mostly due to hunting and the conversion of wetland habitat into agricultural fields.</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:36:05 +0000 Jason Saul 58598 at http://wwno.org Managing Menhaden: A New Plan For 'The Most Important Fish In The Sea' http://wwno.org/post/managing-menhaden-new-plan-most-important-fish-sea <p><em style="line-height: 1.5;">They’re called bunker up north, and Pogies here in the South, and are sometimes referred to as “The Most Important Fish In the Sea”. These are the Menhaden.</em></p><p><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Since it’s not a fish you eat, you’ve probably never heard of it. But the annual Menhaden Advisory Committee meeting was a big deal this year due to a new Menhaden management plan.</em></p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 09:50:00 +0000 Laine Kaplan-Levenson 57274 at http://wwno.org Leeville Arts And Heritage Festival Draws Attention To Disappearing Town http://wwno.org/post/leeville-arts-and-heritage-festival-draws-attention-disappearing-town <p>Leeville, Louisiana is at the southern tip of Bayou Lafourche, along Louisiana state Highway 1. Recent decades have seen the town all but wash away, due to coastal erosion.</p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:08:42 +0000 Eve Troeh 57030 at http://wwno.org 25 Years After Spill, Alaska Town Struggles Back From 'Dead Zone' http://wwno.org/post/25-years-after-spill-alaska-town-struggles-back-dead-zone <em>On March 24, 1989, the tanker Exxon Valdez struck a reef in Prince William Sound, Alaska, spilling 11 million gallons of crude oil into the pristine water. At the time, it was the single biggest spill in U.S. history. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Marisa Peñaloza 56855 at http://wwno.org Why The Exxon Valdez Spill Was A Eureka Moment For Science http://wwno.org/post/why-exxon-valdez-spill-was-eureka-moment-science <em>On March 24, 1989, the tanker Exxon Valdez struck a reef in Prince William Sound, Alaska, spilling 11 million gallons of crude oil into the pristine water. At the time, it was the single biggest spill in U.S. history. Sun, 23 Mar 2014 20:08:24 +0000 Elizabeth Shogren 56786 at http://wwno.org