Food http://wwno.org en Where Y'Eat: Throw It Back, Or Throw A Dinner Party? Exploring 'Trash Fish' http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-throw-it-back-or-throw-dinner-party-exploring-trash-fish <p><em>Food writer Ian McNulty sits down for a meal of under-utilized seafood meant to showcase what diners might be missing in the bounty of the Gulf.</em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The prospect of an exotic dining experience may conjure the unfamiliar food traditions of far-off lands or ingredients too luxurious for everyday meals. But recently I sat down for an intriguingly original dinner built around seafood that is not only found close to home but is also routinely discarded as soon as it’s caught — or else chopped up as bait to catch other fish.</span></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 64195 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Exploring The Latin Deli At Norma's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-exploring-latin-deli-normas <p><em>Eating your way through the deli — and falling for impulse-buy ceviche — at a new Latin American market in Mid-City.</em></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 23395 at http://wwno.org How Hansen's Sno-Bliz Became An 'American Classic' http://wwno.org/post/how-hansens-sno-bliz-became-american-classic <p>Every year, the James Beard Foundation recognizes cherished local food businesses distinguished by their timeless appeal. This year, the <a href="http://www.jamesbeard.org/blog/awards-watch-meet-2014-americas-classics">America's Classic honor</a> was awarded to <a href="http://www.snobliz.com/">Hansen's Sno-Bliz</a>, the place where the unique style of the New Orleans sno-ball was invented.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 15:39:22 +0000 Scott Gold 63719 at http://wwno.org A Salute To The James Beard Awards http://wwno.org/post/salute-james-beard-awards <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Every year The James Beard Awards are bestowed on the most talented individuals in the professional food industry.</span></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Poppy Tooker 63440 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Stalking Greens At The Vietnamese Market http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-stalking-greens-vietnamese-market <p class="legacy-byline"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As the sun comes up on Saturday mornings, the crowd is already out at the Vietnamese farmers market in far eastern New Orleans. Like any farmers market, it's a place where vendors and regular shoppers look like they're right at home, conducting face-to-face commerce with familiar people, discussing their fresh-from-the-soil produce and chatting between sales. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 1714 at http://wwno.org Can A Week-Long Trip Mint New Ambassadors To New Orleans? http://wwno.org/post/can-week-long-trip-mint-new-ambassadors-new-orleans Students at NYU's Food Studies program are studying to be professionals in all walks of life, from community organizers and journalists to food-policy experts and public health workers.</p><p>The class takes a week-long trip to New Orleans each year, which is often the first time students visit the city. Their professor&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">goes to great lengths to connect them with authentic Louisiana experiences, but is a week enough time to overcome years of media-saturated preconceptions? &nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Thomas Walsh 62991 at http://wwno.org Cultural Tourism At Its Finest: Food Studies In New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/cultural-tourism-its-finest-food-studies-new-orleans <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Using food as a way to understand the world is something your parents probably never studied in college, but it’s has become a popular discipline in the past decade. Each year, professor Meryl Rosofsky brings students from <a href="http://steinhardt.nyu.edu/nutrition/food/ma/" target="_blank">NYU’s food studies program</a> to New Orleans for a week-long cultural immersion. We join them at Dooky Chase to hear if their preconceptions of New Orleans are being shed.</span></p><p>We’ll also visit the <a href="http://www.steamboatwarehouse.com/menu" target="_blank">Steamboat Warehouse </a>in St. Landry Parish, take a cooking class with <a href="https://twitter.com/KyanDouglas">Kyan Douglas</a>, and <a href="http://nolavie.com/food-porn-friday-the-brilliance-of-leftovers-32820/" target="_blank">make leftovers with Scott Gold </a>and his enormous jar of kimchi.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 23:02:28 +0000 Poppy Tooker 62990 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A Second Round Of Flavor Memories At Frankie & Johnny's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-second-round-flavor-memories-frankie-johnnys <p><em>The revival of a classic backstreet seafood restaurant helps restore more than just a roster of familiar dishes.</em></p><p></p><p></p><p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62353 at http://wwno.org Summertime Fun: Hot Dogs, Picnics And Kids http://wwno.org/post/summertime-fun-hot-dogs-picnics-and-kids <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As temperatures rise around Louisiana it's become perfectly clear that summer is here. So this week on <em>Louisiana Eats!</em> we're talking about traditional summertime foods, giving you advice for picnics, and hearing how to keep your kids entertained during the hottest part of the year.</span></p><p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 18:15:00 +0000 Poppy Tooker 43411 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Father’s Day Feasts, With A Side Of Baloney http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-father-s-day-feasts-side-baloney <p><em><span class="userContent">Father’s Day, food and being there when the stories start percolating around the table.</span></em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Dad cooked a lot of the breakfasts when I was growing up. Pancakes were usually the order of the day, but no matter what he was making the meal usually included a little baloney.</span></p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62337 at http://wwno.org