globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org en They Sing, He Draws http://wwno.org/post/they-sing-he-draws These stunning images above were all drawn in real time. These were not sketched in pencil first. No photographs were taken to freeze the frenzy that may have ensued on stage during globalFEST 2013, the annual one-night, dozen-band showcase of great up-and-coming musicians from around the world at New York City's Webster Hall last weekend.<p>Michael Arthur works in pen and ink and uses some brushes to get varied lines on the heavy stock watercolor paper he uses. Sometimes there are bursts of color in his otherwise black and white drawings. Sat, 19 Jan 2013 17:55:50 +0000 Bob Boilen 27376 at http://wwno.org Kayhan Kalhor & Erdal Erzincan: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/kayhan-kalhor-erdal-erzincan-globalfest-2013 The soulful Persian classical virtuoso and composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/149093388/kayhan-kalhor" target="_self">Kayhan Kalhor</a> has long been interested in creating artistic bridges to other musicians and styles, including in his work with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15995808/yo-yo-ma" target="_blank">Yo-Yo Ma</a>'s Silk Road Project and a long-term collaboration with the Indian sitarist Shujaat Khan.<p>At this year's edition of globalFEST, Kalhor revived a partnership that initially began about a decade ago with a Turkish master artist, the baglama player Erdal Erzin Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:27:33 +0000 editor 27184 at http://wwno.org La Santa Cecilia: NPR Front Row http://wwno.org/post/la-santa-cecilia-globalfest-2013 Based in Los Angeles and fronted by the smoky-voiced Marisol Hernandez, the fast-rising band La Santa Cecilia splices and dices an array of Mexican and South American sounds in its songs, from Mexican norteño and ranchera to Colombian cumbia. Here, its members perform smart originals and covers of U2's "One" and Soft Cell's "Tainted Love" — all with a wry, old-soul knowingness. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:26:37 +0000 editor 27183 at http://wwno.org Stephane Wrembel: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/stephane-wrembel-globalfest-2013 Sweet and hot: That's the sound that French-born, Brooklyn-based guitarist Stephane Wrembel brought to his intimate early set in The Studio, globalFEST's smallest space. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:25:44 +0000 editor 27182 at http://wwno.org Martha Redbone Roots Project: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/martha-redbone-roots-project-globalfest-2013 Martha Redbone's music chronicles the crossroads of the American experience. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:25:06 +0000 editor 27181 at http://wwno.org A Tribe Called Red: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/tribe-called-red-globalfest-2013 The night ended with bumping beats down at Webster Hall's Studio space with the Ottawa-based Native collective A Tribe Called Red. The group calls its style "pow wow step" — an imaginative and dance-floor-ready blend of beats, aboriginal singing and dancing, and visuals and audio samples that turn "Indian" stereotypes on their heads. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:23:50 +0000 editor 27180 at http://wwno.org Lo'Jo: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/lojo-globalfest-2013 The French group Lo'Jo is something of a throwback: For 30 years, it's made world music best described as "worldbeat," a melange of a little of this (French chanson) and a little of that (dollops of North and West African colors and textures) within a musical community that tends to prize strongly rooted tradition. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:22:50 +0000 editor 27179 at http://wwno.org Christine Salem: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/christine-salem-globalfest-2013 As the globalFEST evening wound down, much of the buzz about the biggest finds of the year centered on a seemingly unlikely figure: the vocalist Christine Salem, who made her New York City debut in this performance. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:22:05 +0000 editor 27178 at http://wwno.org The Stooges Brass Band: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/stooges-brass-band-globalfest-2013 Though it's the year's premier "world music" event, GlobalFEST embraces many homegrown sounds — and the 2013 roster was full of North American artists. A case in point: The Stooges Brass Band, a New Orleans brass band for the 21st century. It's got that unmistakeable sound of its hometown, but hip-hop, funk, R&B and soul are all in the group's DNA. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:19:34 +0000 editor 27177 at http://wwno.org La Shica: globalFEST 2013 http://wwno.org/post/la-shica-globalfest-2013 Do you think flamenco can only be danced by someone wearing a frilly, fire-engine-red dress? Elsa Rovayo, frontwoman of Madrid's La Shica ("The Girl"), begs to differ. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:18:20 +0000 editor 27176 at http://wwno.org