recovery http://wwno.org en Court Told Fisherman Should Return BP Claim Money http://wwno.org/post/court-told-fisherman-should-return-bp-claim-money A court-appointed investigator says a fisherman should return more than $50,000 in BP</font>&nbsp;oil spill&nbsp;claim</font>&nbsp;money.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; line-height: 15px;">Louis Freeh, the former FBI director appointed to investigate&nbsp;<font color="red">claims</font>&nbsp;arising from the 2010 disaster, filed a federal court motion Tuesday to force the return of the money.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 12:32:37 +0000 Associated Press 62290 at http://wwno.org Court: BP Must Pay Clean Water Act Fines http://wwno.org/post/court-bp-must-pay-clean-water-act-fines <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; line-height: 15px;">A federal appeals court says BP PLC and a minority partner in the blown-out Macondo well cannot avoid Clean Water Act fines for the 2010 oil spill by blaming another company's failed equipment.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:02:12 +0000 Associated Press 61991 at http://wwno.org BP Asking US Supreme Court To Modify Claims Process http://wwno.org/post/bp-asking-us-supreme-court-modify-claims-process <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">BP is asking the US Supreme Court for relief from a damage claim process enacted after the 2010 oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. The oil company has lost several court battles to modify the deal.</span></p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 61127 at http://wwno.org Broadmoor Development Corporation, Building Back The Neighborhood http://wwno.org/post/broadmoor-development-corporation-building-back-neighborhood <p style="margin-bottom: 0px; line-height: normal; font-family: Times;"><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">The Broadmoor Development Corporation was created in 2006 by the Broadmoor Improvement Association to implement programs in response to the growing demand for housing advocacy and rehabilitation in the aftermath of the 2005 storms. Their mission is to enhance the economic wellbeing of the Broadmoor neighborhood.</span></p> Tue, 06 May 2014 11:49:00 +0000 Eve Abrams 60126 at http://wwno.org Barataria Bay, 4 Years After The Deepwater Horizon Disaster http://wwno.org/post/barataria-bay-4-years-after-deepwater-horizon-disaster <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Sunday’s four-year anniversary&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">of the BP oil spill&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">approaches, environmental groups headed out into one of the areas most heavily oiled in the disaster. There, they looked at what effects that oil could be having on wetlands, and inspected the latest damage from coastal erosion, ongoing before and after the spill.</span></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 12:30:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 58605 at http://wwno.org Battle Brewing In Holy Cross Over Proposed Highrises http://wwno.org/post/battle-brewing-holy-cross-over-proposed-highrises <p></p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 13:35:24 +0000 Karen Gadbois 57990 at http://wwno.org More BP Oil Washes Ashore As Trial Date Set In Federal Court http://wwno.org/post/more-bp-oil-washes-ashore-trial-date-set-federal-court <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Oil continues to wash up on Gulf of Mexico shorelines from BP’s underwater well explosion almost four years ago. The find comes as a key trial date is set in federal court in New Orleans.</span></p><p> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 00:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 56759 at http://wwno.org The Listening Post Asks: Is Art Essential To The Revitalization Of New Orleans? http://wwno.org/post/listening-post-asks-art-essential-revitalization-new-orleans <p>Every week WWNO's Listening Post project asks questions about local news in New Orleans and reports back on the community's response. This week's topic is art and revitalization.</p><p>Local artist Jacques Duffourc has made New Orleans his canvas for many years.</p><p>"Everyone has a voice and everyone is a creator themselves and creates the place that they want around them. And they're allowed to do so. There's not a whole lot of rules here. If you want to walk around with your pajamas on, people are going to celebrate that," says Duffourc.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Kate Richardson 56564 at http://wwno.org Deepwater, Center-Stage: Disaster Through Survivors' Eyes http://wwno.org/post/deepwater-center-stage-disaster-through-survivors-eyes Eleven died and hundreds of millions of gallons of oil spilled into the Gulf of Mexico when BP's Deepwater Horizon rig exploded in 2010. But beneath the tragedy, there's a complex story about people's relationships to oil. That's what's explored in <em>Spill, </em>a new play by one of the creators of <em>The Laramie Project.</em><p>Playwright Leigh Fondakowski had never been to southeast Louisiana when she took a boat ride out of Bay Jimmy, several months after the well had been capped. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Eve Troeh 56320 at http://wwno.org BP Loses Appeal Of Payment Process http://wwno.org/post/bp-loses-appeal-payment-process <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">BP has lost an appeal of how much it has to pay in damages caused by its 2010 oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. A split decision by a three-judge panel could restart a payment process that has been on hold while the appeal was pending.</span></p><p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 55089 at http://wwno.org