bounty program http://wwno.org en NFL's Gregg Williams, Who Orchestrated Bounty Program, Is Reinstated http://wwno.org/post/nfls-gregg-williams-who-orchestrated-bounty-program-reinstated Less than a year after orchestrating a bounty program in Saint Louis, Gregg Williams will be back in the NFL next season. Thu, 07 Feb 2013 18:05:00 +0000 editor 28805 at http://wwno.org Transcript: NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell's Press Conference http://wwno.org/post/transcript-nfl-commissioner-roger-goodells-press-conference <p>A transcript of NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell's press conference, from Friday, Feb. 1.</p><p></p><p class="p1"><b><i>Opening Statement:</i></b></p> Sat, 02 Feb 2013 20:56:12 +0000 WWNO Staff 28457 at http://wwno.org Saints Say NFL Bounty Probe Took Toll on Season http://wwno.org/post/saints-say-nfl-bounty-probe-took-toll-season <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">History will show that in the wake of the NFL's bounty investigation of the New Orleans&nbsp;<font color="red">Saints</font>, the club missed the playoffs for the first time in four years.</p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 18:55:06 +0000 The Associated Press 25918 at http://wwno.org NFL Players' 'Bountygate' Suspensions Vacated http://wwno.org/post/nfl-players-bountygate-suspensions-vacated The <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/05/02/151857448/nfl-suspends-four-players-one-for-full-season-over-saints-bounties" target="_blank">four NFL players who were fined and given multi-game suspensions</a> for their alleged parts in the New Orleans Saints' "bountygate" scheme that paid bonuses for injuring opposing players have had their punishments vacated, the league says.<p><a href="http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap1000000109646/article/paul-tagliabue-vacates-new-orleans-saints-bounty-suspensions" target="_blank">According to NFL.com</a>, "former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagli Tue, 11 Dec 2012 19:11:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 24807 at http://wwno.org Panel Backs Saints Players Against NFL Commissioner http://wwno.org/post/panel-backs-saints-players-against-nfl-commissioner <p>New Orleans Saints fans are celebrating news that an appeals panel has overturned four player suspensions over the bounty investigation. It’s unclear how long the reprieve will last. Sat, 08 Sep 2012 01:43:59 +0000 Eileen Fleming 19579 at http://wwno.org Suspensions Of Saints Players Lifted http://wwno.org/post/suspensions-saints-players-lifted Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. They haven't played their first regular season game yet, but the New Orleans Saints already have a victory under their belts. Today, an arbitration panel lifted the National Football League's suspension of four current and former players. They've been implicated in the team's so-called bounty system. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 21:12:00 +0000 editor 19573 at http://wwno.org Vilma Asks Judge to Vacate NFL Suspension http://wwno.org/post/vilma-asks-judge-vacate-nfl-suspension <p>NEW ORLEANS (AP) &mdash; Suspended Saints linebacker Jonathan Vilma has amended his lawsuit against NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and the league, asking a federal judge in New Orleans to overturn his suspension and issue a preliminary injunction that would allow Vilma to work while the case is pending.</p><p>Vilma&#39;s latest legal maneuver Thursday came shortly after Goodell filed a motion to dismiss Vilma&#39;s defamation claims in connection with the league&#39;s bounty investigation.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 15:54:50 +0000 The Associated Press 15218 at http://wwno.org Fujita Sees Bounty Probe as Part Smear Campaign http://wwno.org/post/fujita-sees-bounty-probe-part-smear-campaign <p>Scott Fujita, a union leader with a record of criticizing the NFL&#39;s player-safety record, sees elements of a &quot;smear campaign&quot; in a bounty investigation that has sullied his reputation. Some NFL players agree, and question whether Fujita&#39;s three-game suspension has something to do with retribution.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 14:48:34 +0000 The Associated Press 14544 at http://wwno.org NFL Denies Witness Retractions in Bounty Probe http://wwno.org/post/nfl-denies-witness-retractions-bounty-probe <p>The NFL is denying accusations that it covered up retractions made by key witnesses in its bounty investigation, or that Commissioner Roger Goodell has placed gag orders on Saints employees and others who could help punished players clear their names.</p><p>Lawyer Peter Ginsberg, who represents suspended Saints player Jonathan Vilma, made the accusations when punished players appeared earlier this week for an appeal hearing, a full transcript of which has been obtained by The Associated Press.</p> Fri, 22 Jun 2012 16:22:30 +0000 The Associated Press 14424 at http://wwno.org Ex-Saint Hargrove Says It's Not His Voice in Clip http://wwno.org/post/ex-saint-hargrove-says-its-not-his-voice-clip <p>NEW YORK &mdash; Former Saints defensive end Anthony Hargrove says it&#39;s not his voice saying &quot;Give me the money&quot; in a video used by the NFL as evidence in its investigation of the New Orleans bounty program.</p><p>Hargrove spoke Tuesday outside NFL headquarters.</p><p>Hargrove, Will Smith, Scott Fujita and Jonathan Vilma each attended appeals hearings for their suspensions with Commissioner Roger Goodell at the league offices in Manhattan on Monday.</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 18:41:41 +0000 The Associated Press 14219 at http://wwno.org