airport http://wwno.org en Crews Working At Hammond Airport Find Underground River http://wwno.org/post/crews-working-hammond-airport-find-underground-river <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The City Council has authorized expenses for unexpected work at Hammond Northshore Regional Airport after crews working there dug into what is believed to be an underground river.</p> Sun, 06 Oct 2013 01:50:01 +0000 The Associated Press 45412 at http://wwno.org Lakefront Airport Restored To Art Deco Glory Days http://wwno.org/post/lakefront-airport-restored-art-deco-glory-days <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lakefront Airport has been restored to its Art Deco glory days. A $20 million restoration has left the terminal looking as Huey Long once left it.</span></p><p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 44924 at http://wwno.org New Airport Terminal Planned at Armstrong International Airport http://wwno.org/post/new-airport-terminal-planned-armstrong-international-airport <p>New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu and leaders throughout the region are unveiling plans to build a new airport. Supporters say it makes financial sense to replace the current 50-year-old terminal. Thu, 18 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 33469 at http://wwno.org Lafayette Airport Marks Another Record Year http://wwno.org/post/lafayette-airport-marks-another-record-year <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">A record number of passengers flew into and out of Lafayette Regional Airport in 2012, marking three consecutive years of record-breaking passenger activity.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">A total of 459,119 travelers flew into and out of the airport in 2012, topping the previous number of 455,730 set in 2011.</p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 17:33:17 +0000 The Associated Press 28543 at http://wwno.org New Orleans' Airport Gets a Facelift http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-airport-gets-facelift <p></p><p></p><p>In the past several weeks New Orleans has finished dressing up for the biggest sporting event in the country. Even places long-since overdue for a makeover have spruced up for the big game.</p><p>On this week's <em>Notes from New Orleans</em> we'll hear about the hard work done at <a href="http://flymsy.com/">Armstrong International </a>and the lasting impression they hope to make.</p><p>To read a related article written by Litwin, visit <a href="http://nolavie.com/2013/01/louis-armstrong-airport-gets-a-facelift-94304.html">Nolavie.com</a>.</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 23:53:41 +0000 Sharon Litwin 28321 at http://wwno.org Hammond Airport Expects Busy Super Bowl Week http://wwno.org/post/hammond-airport-expects-busy-super-bowl-week <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">City Administrator Pete Panepinto says Hammond's Northshore Airport is getting ready for the NFL's Super Bowl, set for Feb. 3 in New Orleans.</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2012 21:39:05 +0000 The Associated Press 25681 at http://wwno.org Hornets VP Detained At Airport With Loaded Gun http://wwno.org/post/hornets-vp-detained-airport-loaded-gun <p>A New Orleans Hornets executive was detained by police at Newark Airport after Transportation Security Administration agents discovered a loaded handgun in his luggage, <a href="http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/newark_gun_air_heads_fosJPUanJ4m0eeA3hjqA8M" target="_blank">the New York Post is reporting</a>.</p> Sat, 29 Sep 2012 17:28:29 +0000 Jason Saul 20931 at http://wwno.org