Audubon Nature Institute http://wwno.org en 1,000-Acre Westbank Range To Be Home For Declining Species http://wwno.org/post/1000-acre-westbank-range-be-home-declining-species <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">A planned 1,000-acre range on New Orleans' west bank will serve as a haven for antelope and bird species that aren't breeding as well as zookeepers would like, giving some of the animals a chance to roam in herds that zoos don't have space for.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 21:26:47 +0000 The Associated Press 51616 at http://wwno.org Infographic: Audubon Hatches Penguins In Record-Breaking Numbers http://wwno.org/post/infographic-audubon-hatches-penguins-record-breaking-numbers <p></p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 19:25:02 +0000 Jason Saul 48441 at http://wwno.org Purple Martins And Their Causeway Summer Roost http://wwno.org/post/purple-martins-and-their-causeway-summer-roost <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The end of summer means back to school, back to the grindstone, back from vacation. And for millions of birds, it means time to fly south for the winter.</span></p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 18:11:35 +0000 Eve Troeh 42328 at http://wwno.org Two Zoos, One Big Breeding Ground for Antelope, Birds http://wwno.org/post/two-zoos-one-big-breeding-ground-antelope-birds <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Two top zoos are creating a home where endangered antelope can roam and help repopulate their species on 1,000 acres in New Orleans.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">More than two dozen species of hoofed animals and birds may live in the facility planned by the San Diego Zoo Global Wildlife Conservancy and New Orleans' Audubon Nature Institute.</p> Fri, 18 Jan 2013 02:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 27101 at http://wwno.org Audubon Teams With San Diego Zoo For Wildlife Conservation http://wwno.org/post/audubon-teams-san-diego-zoo-wildlife-conservation <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Audubon Nature Institute is joining forces with the San Diego Zoo to help preserve endangered and threatened mammals and birds. New Orleans will provide space for a five-year, $10 million project.</span></p><p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 27104 at http://wwno.org Deaf dolphin rescued near Grand Isle is going to Gulfport http://wwno.org/post/deaf-dolphin-rescued-near-grand-isle-going-gulfport <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">A deaf dolphin found stranded in March near Grand Isle&nbsp;is heading for Gulfport, Miss.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">Suzanne Smith, rescue coordinator at the Audubon Nature Institute, says the 2 ½-year-old dolphin will be taken Tuesday to the Institute for Marine Mammal Studies because he would be unable to survive in the wild.</p> Tue, 11 Sep 2012 19:54:10 +0000 JANET McCONNAUGHEY | The Associated Press 19772 at http://wwno.org