Charity Hospital http://wwno.org en New Orleans Submits Legislative Agenda To Baton Rouge http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-submits-legislative-agenda-baton-rouge <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Orleans Mayor Mitch </span>Landrieu<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has released his wish list for the current session of the State Legislature. Items requested by City Hall include a tax increase for public safety and a more aggressive approach to clearing blighted property.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 55548 at http://wwno.org Voices From The WWNO Listening Post: Charity Hospital http://wwno.org/post/voices-wwno-listening-post-charity-hospital <p></p><p><span style="background-color: transparent; font-family: Arial; font-size: 15px; line-height: 1.15; white-space: pre-wrap;">The&nbsp;</span><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: 15px; line-height: 17px; white-space: pre-wrap;">1939 </span><span style="background-color: transparent; font-family: Arial; font-size: 15px; line-height: 1.15; white-space: pre-wrap;">Charity Hospital building served the healthcare needs of generations of the city’s poor. However, its basement flooded during hurricane Katrina, and for the past eight years the building has remained vacant.</span></p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 20:44:12 +0000 Kate Richardson 47403 at http://wwno.org Landrieu Requests $100 Million For Charity Hospital http://wwno.org/post/landrieu-requests-100-million-charity-hospital <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mayor Mitch </span>Landrieu<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> applied for $100 million in state construction funds on Friday to redevelop the former Charity Hospital building. Renovating the building would cost around $300 million, and revitalize a moribund stretch of downtown.</span></p> Mon, 04 Nov 2013 16:44:30 +0000 Tyler Bridges 47145 at http://wwno.org Street Repairs, Charity Hospital Renovations Proposed For 2014 http://wwno.org/post/street-repairs-charity-hospital-renovations-proposed-2014 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New </span>Orleanians<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> who attended recent public meetings on the 2014 city budget had a lot of complaints, but none came up so frequently as the city&rsquo;s crumbling streets. With constant construction on the city&rsquo;s major commercial arteries, residents of smaller streets wondered when the city planned to get around to them.</span></p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 17:52:07 +0000 Charles Maldonado 46106 at http://wwno.org Developer Pres Kabacoff's Plan For Downtown http://wwno.org/post/developer-pres-kabacoffs-plan-downtown <p><a href="http://www.hriproperties.com/m-pres-kabacoff" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Developer </span>Pres<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Kabacoff</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says he is a man on a mission to transform downtown. If the city center can be revitalized, he says, and the river can be connected to the lake, it would transform the entire city of New Orleans.</span></p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 13:11:02 +0000 Tyler Bridges 44667 at http://wwno.org Mayor Landrieu Hears Budget Ideas at Community Meetings http://wwno.org/post/mayor-landrieu-hears-budget-ideas-community-meetings <p>New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu has begun his annual round of community meetings to set budget priorities for the coming year. Some suggestions range from fixing streets to using the shuttered Charity Hospital as a new City Hall. Tue, 14 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 17782 at http://wwno.org