restaurants http://wwno.org en Where Y'Eat: Exploring The Latin Deli At Norma's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-exploring-latin-deli-normas <p><em>Eating your way through the deli — and falling for impulse-buy ceviche — at a new Latin American market in Mid-City.</em></p><p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 23395 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Pop-Up Restaurants Go Permanent http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-pop-restaurants-go-permanent <p>After building familiarity and followings,&nbsp;one-time pop-up dining concepts are making the leap to become fulltime restaurants around New Orleans.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 61631 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Red Beans, Po-Boys And A Hearty Greek Heritage http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-red-beans-po-boys-and-hearty-greek-heritage <p><em>Tracing the roots of a widespread network of New Orleans restaurateurs back to one Greek island and one shared American story.</em></p><p>“Opa<span style="line-height: 1.5;">!” that’s the universal Greek exclamation of joy, and you’ll be hearing it a lot this weekend as the Greek Festival returns to the Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral in Lakeview. But for some of those sharing in the </span>opa<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> spirit, the toast is about more than just the revelry of the moment.</span></p> Thu, 22 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 61153 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Not-So-Simple Math For Restaurant Growth http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-not-so-simple-math-restaurant-growth <p><em>From physical expansions to spin-offs to a high-profile second concept, ambitious chefs are finding different ways to expand while keeping the dining options coming.</em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Open a burger joint or coffee shop and the path to expansion can be as clear as a roadmap: find a good location and replicate.</span></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 60158 at http://wwno.org Louisiana Workers Push For An Increase In The Federal Minimum Wage http://wwno.org/post/louisiana-workers-push-increase-federal-minimum-wage <p>A statewide bill to increase the minimum wage failed in Baton Rouge last week. Now, Louisiana workers are taking the issue to the federal level.</p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 06:23:30 +0000 Janaya Williams 59579 at http://wwno.org You Don't Have To Be Fancy: New Variations On Fish & Vietnamese Food http://wwno.org/post/you-dont-have-be-fancy-new-variations-fish-vietnamese-food <p>Fine dining restaurants are often where innovations take place in the restaurant industry, but quality food is never limited to those locations. After spending years in white tablecloth restaurants, Jeff and Michael Gulotta&nbsp;started their own place, <a href="https://twitter.com/MOPHONOLA" target="_blank">MoPho, </a>which caters to the palates and pocketbooks of their working class industry friends.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 19:00:00 +0000 Poppy Tooker 59383 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Choosing Traditional As An Alternative http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-choosing-traditional-alternative <p><em>In a sea of diverse dining concepts, a small current of new eateries are dialing back to a much older model of New Orleans flavor.</em></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 58635 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Healthy Helpings That Help Others http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-healthy-helpings-help-others <p><em>Food writer Ian McNulty on two off-the-radar cafes with healthy options on the menu and social service in the business plan. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As fun as Carnival can be in New Orleans, the end of this season of parades and parties and carrying on can come as something of a relief. Whatever Lent might mean to you, the aftermath of Mardi Gras is a time to regroup and get your priorities back in focus.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 22:36:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 55245 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A Breakfast Boom Gets Cracking http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-breakfast-boom-gets-cracking <p><em>New Orleans asked for more breakfast, and New Orleans restaurateurs listened. All over town, a new crop of breakfast specialists have appeared. Ian McNulty explores the trend.&nbsp; </em></p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:32:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 53012 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Tapping The Elemental Oyster Appeal http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-tapping-elemental-oyster-appeal <p><em>Start with a pile of fresh oysters and you don't need much more to make a party. That's part of the inspiration for a new event coming up this weekend in New Orleans. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Confronted with the crazy abundance of oysters in coastal Louisiana, we have come up with countless ways to prepare them.</span></p><p> Thu, 16 Jan 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 52193 at http://wwno.org