drought http://wwno.org en La. Farms and Timber Still Recovering from Drought http://wwno.org/post/la-farms-and-timber-still-recovering-drought <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">North Louisiana farmers and timber growers say they're beginning to recover from drought in 2010 and 2011. But <a href="http://bit.ly/VDJKDp" target="_blank">The Times of Shreveport reports</a> it will take time to rebuild cattle herds and that trees stressed by the drought could continue to die for another two years.</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 26477 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Port Unaffected So Far By Lower Mississippi River Levels http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-port-unaffected-so-far-lower-mississippi-river-levels <p>Low water levels in the upper Mississippi River have not affected operations so far at the Port of New Orleans. Port officials say no traffic restrictions are expected. Thu, 23 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 18343 at http://wwno.org Disaster aid available for Louisiana small businesses http://wwno.org/post/disaster-aid-available-louisiana-small-businesses <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">Small businesses in 11 Louisiana parishes are now eligible for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.</p> Wed, 22 Aug 2012 18:44:30 +0000 The Associated Press 18319 at http://wwno.org Low Waters Close 11-Mile Stretch Of Mississippi River http://wwno.org/post/low-waters-close-11-mile-stretch-mississippi-river An 11-mile stretch of the Mississippi River was closed today because of low waters levels.<p><a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/army-corps-of-engineers-dredges-low-mississippi-river-near-memphis/2012/08/20/cfdc6994-eadc-11e1-866f-60a00f604425_story.html">The AP reports: </a><p><blockquote><p>"Coast Guard spokesman Ryan Tippets told The Associated Press on Monday that the stretch of river near Greenville, Miss., has been closed intermittently since Aug. Mon, 20 Aug 2012 21:27:00 +0000 editor 18189 at http://wwno.org The Certainty of Uncertain Weather http://wwno.org/post/certainty-uncertain-weather <p>This summer, I have emptied my garden&#39;s rain barrels twice to keep herbs, vegetables and flowers alive during our endless drought. I&rsquo;ve also witnessed spirited debates between farmers, shoppers, and the occasional know-it-all about global warming.</p><p>While my uncle may be a meteorologist, I am simply a casual observer, and what I have noticed is this: Farmers return from their fields with stories of extreme and unfamiliar weather. These patterns affect our food.</p> Sat, 18 Aug 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Richard McCarthy 17102 at http://wwno.org 11 North Louisiana parishes named drought disaster areas http://wwno.org/post/11-north-louisiana-parishes-named-drought-disaster-areas <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">Louisiana Agriculture Commissioner Mike Strain says the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 11 north Louisiana parishes as disaster areas because of drought.</p> Wed, 15 Aug 2012 23:26:00 +0000 The Associated Press 18071 at http://wwno.org Drought Lowers Mississippi River, Increases Threat to Drinking Water http://wwno.org/post/drought-lowers-mississippi-river-increases-threat-drinking-water <p>Louisiana has so far avoided disastrous drought conditions declared in nearly half the counties in the United States. But southeast Louisiana is starting to feel the effects of a lower Mississippi River. Wed, 08 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 17359 at http://wwno.org Drought In U.S. Now Worst Since 1956; Food Prices To Spike, Economy To Suffer http://wwno.org/post/drought-us-now-worst-1956-food-prices-spike-economy-suffer With about 55 percent of the continental U.S. Tue, 17 Jul 2012 11:26:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 15907 at http://wwno.org Texas Seeks New Water Supplies Amid Drought http://wwno.org/post/texas-seeks-new-water-supplies-amid-drought The punishing seven-year drought of the 1950s in Texas brought about the modern era of water planning. But the drought of 2011 was the hottest, driest 12 months on record there.<p>Though only a handful of towns saw their water sources dry up last summer, it got so bad that cities, industries and farmers began to think the unthinkable: Would they run out of water?<p>With the state's population expected to double by 2060, Texas must begin an expensive and politically charged search for new water sources. Sun, 08 Jul 2012 10:08:00 +0000 John Burnett 15294 at http://wwno.org Portraits: Texas Ranchers Remember An Epic Drought http://wwno.org/post/portraits-texas-ranchers-remember-epic-drought "Between 1950 and 1960," <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=155995881" target="_blank">according to NPR's John Burnett</a>, Texas "lost nearly 100,000 farms and ranches," and rural residents who had made up more than a third of the population dwindled to just a quarter of the population.<p>They had all moved to towns and cities after an epic, seven-year drought. Sat, 07 Jul 2012 10:10:00 +0000 editor 15271 at http://wwno.org