National Weather Service http://wwno.org en Winter Storm Dumping Snow, Sleet And Freezing Rain Across Metro Area http://wwno.org/post/winter-storm-dumping-snow-sleet-and-freezing-rain-across-metro-area <p>South Louisiana has slowly ground to a halt as a winter storm dumps snow, sleet and freezing rain from Lafayette through coastal Mississippi.</p><p></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Jason Saul 52927 at http://wwno.org National Weather Service Issues Freeze Warning For Wednesday Night http://wwno.org/post/national-weather-service-issues-freeze-warning-wednesday-night <p>The National Weather Service's New Orleans office has issued a freeze warning tonight for portions of southeast Louisiana and southern Mississippi.</p><p>The NWS says temperatures will rapidly drop to freezing, or just below it, shortly after midnight tonight, and remain there until after sunrise. The warning is in effect from midnight tonight to 9 a.m. Thursday, along and north of Interstate 12, and for all areas of coastal and southwest Mississippi.</p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:47:26 +0000 Jason Saul 48012 at http://wwno.org Updated: Projected Rain, Wind And Storm Surge Impact Of Tropical Storm Karen http://wwno.org/post/updated-projected-rain-wind-and-storm-surge-impact-tropical-storm-karen <p>The <a href="http://www.srh.noaa.gov/lix/" target="_blank">National Weather Service&#39;s New Orleans office</a> has released an updated series of maps indicating the projected impact of Tropical Storm Karen on the metro area.</p><p>The NHS warns that maps such as these are subject to change based on a wide range of factors as the storm approaches. This post will be updated with new maps as the storm progresses.</p><p><em><strong>This post has been updated.</strong></em></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 14:27:47 +0000 Jason Saul 45197 at http://wwno.org Weather Service: Clayton, La., Got 7.2 Inches of Rain http://wwno.org/post/weather-service-clayton-la-got-72-inches-rain <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The National Weather Service says the Concordia Parish town of Clayton got 7.2 inches of rain Wednesday and Thursday.</p> Sat, 12 Jan 2013 14:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 26771 at http://wwno.org Rivers High, Ground Saturated, More Rain on Way http://wwno.org/post/rivers-high-ground-saturated-more-rain-way <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Louisiana may have a day or two of sun after the storms that swamped the state, but forecasters say rivers and streams will still be high and the ground will still be soggy when the next round of rain hits over the weekend.</p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 11:25:11 +0000 The Associated Press 26775 at http://wwno.org Possible Tornado Damages Plant in South La. http://wwno.org/post/possible-tornado-damages-plant-south-la <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The National Weather Service says an industrial plant in Iberville Parish may have been damaged by a tornado as heavy storms moved through the area Thursday morning.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">No injuries were reported.</p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 23:13:42 +0000 The Associated Press 26754 at http://wwno.org Isaac's Size, Speed Help It Pack A Heavyweight Punch http://wwno.org/post/isaacs-size-speed-help-it-pack-heavyweight-punch Isaac might not be in the same league as Hurricane Katrina seven years ago, but the latest storm to batter Louisiana's Gulf Coast is punching above its weight class in more ways than one, scientists say.<p>The 2005 Hurricane Katrina, which devastated Louisiana and parts of Mississippi and Alabama, was a Category 3 storm (sustained winds of 125 mph) moving at about 15 mph when it made landfall on the Gulf Coast. By comparison, Isaac was a weak Category 1 storm as measured on the Saffir-Simpson scale, with sustained winds of 74-95 mph. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 19:42:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 18866 at http://wwno.org Latest National Hurricane Center Graphics http://wwno.org/post/latest-national-hurricane-center-graphics <p>The latest graphics issued by the National Weather Service and the National Hurricane Center. Tropical Wind Speed probability, Rainfall Potential, and the Forecast Cone.</p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 02:12:34 +0000 Jason Saul 18815 at http://wwno.org Updated Hurricane Isaac Rainfall and Windspeed Maps http://wwno.org/post/updated-hurricane-isaac-rainfall-and-windspeed-maps <p>The latest projected rainfall and tropical storm-force windspeed maps from the National Weather Service and National Hurricane Center.</p><p>Maps will be reposted as conditions change.</p> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:55:48 +0000 Jason Saul 18788 at http://wwno.org How Much Rain Will Hurricane Isaac Dump? Have A Look At This Map http://wwno.org/post/how-much-rain-will-hurricane-isaac-dump-have-look-map The story of Hurricane Isaac will more than likely be one of flooding. The National Hurricane Center says that some places along the Mississippi and Louisiana coast could see up to 18 inches of rain.<p>Over five days, the tropical system will spread rain far and wide.<p>How widespread, you ask? Look at this map put together by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. It shows their prediction of how much rain will fall in the next five days: <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2012 National Public Radio. Tue, 28 Aug 2012 17:19:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 18738 at http://wwno.org