farming http://wwno.org en Cold Winter Hard On Crawfish Farmers http://wwno.org/post/cold-winter-hard-crawfish-farmers <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">People planning Super Bowl crawfish boils may be out of luck. Farmers say cold has kept crawfish scarce all winter, and many ponds are now iced over.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">LSU AgCenter aquaculture specialist Craig Lutz says people may need to order ahead even at the peak of the season.</p> Thu, 30 Jan 2014 15:34:20 +0000 The Associated Press 53028 at http://wwno.org Louisiana Eats! Celebrates The International Year Of Family Farming http://wwno.org/post/louisiana-eats-celebrates-international-year-family-farming <p><span style="font-size: 10pt; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 16.413331985473633px;">The United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization declared that 2014 is the International Year of Family Farming. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 03:00:00 +0000 Poppy Tooker 51778 at http://wwno.org Federal Regulations Could Change How La. Pecan Growers Do Business http://wwno.org/post/federal-regulations-could-change-how-la-pecan-growers-do-business Dozens of pecan growers across Louisiana met at the LSU AgCenter Pecan Research Station in Shreveport earlier this month to discuss how proposed federal regulations could impact their operations. State pecan specialist Charlie Graham said the Food Safety Modernization Act will bring about more stringent guidelines that will be harder for small farmers to implement and adhere to. Tue, 14 May 2013 14:04:00 +0000 Kate Archer Kent 35319 at http://wwno.org Red River Diversion to Quench Farmers' Fields http://wwno.org/post/red-river-diversion-quench-farmers-fields <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">A $4 million freshwater diversion project will pump water from the Red River into depleted Red Bayou, offering farmers along the nine-mile-long waterway in northwest Louisiana summertime relief for their fields.</p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 19:47:14 +0000 The Associated Press 28558 at http://wwno.org Sugar Cane League to Meet in Lafayette http://wwno.org/post/sugar-cane-league-meet-lafayette <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The American Sugar Cane League will hold its annual meeting Feb. 5-6 in Lafayette.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;"><a href="http://bit.ly/VsxoMO" target="_blank">The Daily Comet reports</a>&nbsp;the Thibodaux-based group lobbies on cane growers and the sugar industry.</p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 02:03:57 +0000 The Associated Press 27986 at http://wwno.org Market Outlook Bright for Rice, Soybeans http://wwno.org/post/market-outlook-bright-rice-soybeans <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Despite uncertainty surrounding federal farm legislation, agricultural economists are optimistic about the market outlook for rice and soybeans with higher prices and more varieties expected.</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 22:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 27017 at http://wwno.org Rainfall Hampering La. Farmers http://wwno.org/post/rainfall-hampering-la-farmers <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Heavy rains in southwest Louisiana are flooding land and keeping some farmers out of the fields.</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 26988 at http://wwno.org With Too Much Rain, Crawfish Swim Out of Ponds http://wwno.org/post/too-much-rain-crawfish-swim-out-ponds <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">As rain followed rain in south Louisiana, the president of the Louisiana Crawfish Farmers Association saw a good chunk of his crop swim over the levees around his ponds while fish swam in to feast on those remaining.</p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 00:36:07 +0000 The Associated Press 27025 at http://wwno.org La. Farms and Timber Still Recovering from Drought http://wwno.org/post/la-farms-and-timber-still-recovering-drought <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">North Louisiana farmers and timber growers say they're beginning to recover from drought in 2010 and 2011. But <a href="http://bit.ly/VDJKDp" target="_blank">The Times of Shreveport reports</a> it will take time to rebuild cattle herds and that trees stressed by the drought could continue to die for another two years.</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 26477 at http://wwno.org USDA: La. Crop Yields Set Records http://wwno.org/post/usda-la-crop-yields-set-records <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The U.S. Department of Agriculture says Louisiana's harvests this year include record yields for at least five crops — corn, soybeans, cotton, grain sorghum and rice. Sugarcane is still being harvested, but could be near a record.</p> Tue, 25 Dec 2012 03:28:45 +0000 The Associated Press 25690 at http://wwno.org