idea village http://wwno.org en Commerce Secretary Touts Power Of Small Businesses In Idea Village Visit http://wwno.org/post/commerce-secretary-touts-power-small-businesses-idea-village-visit <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Penny </span>Pritzker<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, the newly appointed <a href="http://www.commerce.gov/About%20Commerce/Commerce%20Leadership/Penny_Pritzker_Secretary_of_Commerce" target="_blank">Secretary of Commerce</a>, dropped in on meetings with small business owners at the <a href="http://ideavillage.org/" target="_blank">Idea Village</a> as part of a countrywide listening tour.</span></p><p>Pritzker also brought a big check with her — money destined to help the entrepreneurs the Idea Village serves.</p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 18:49:26 +0000 Eve Abrams 43214 at http://wwno.org Idea Fest http://wwno.org/post/idea-fest <p></p><p class="p1">Out to Lunch is on board this week with the Idea Village's fifth annual entrepreneur showcase — <a href="http://ideavillage.org/">Idea Village</a>'s biggest NOLAbiz party yet, with 1,000+ entrepreneurs.</p><p class="p1">We're joined by hosts Tim Williamson, Kevin Wilkins and Robbie Vitrano, inNOLAvation founder Damon Burns,&nbsp;<a href="http://cano-la.org/">Creative Alliance</a>'s Jeanne Nathan, and Webster Pierce Jr., whose award winning invention, Wave Robber, is going to save the Louisiana coast.</p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 18:25:48 +0000 Peter Ricchiuti 31933 at http://wwno.org Happy Entrepreneur Season http://wwno.org/post/happy-entrepreneur-season <p>New Orleans used to be a place you had to leave to have a decent business career. Now it’s a place entrepreneurs move to.</p><p>This radical change in our landscape didn’t just happen, it was engineered, in large part by <a href="http://ideavillage.org/" target="_blank">The Idea Village</a>. CEO Tim Williamson joins Peter for lunch, along with Matt Wisdom, co-founder of one of New Orleans’ most successful next generation companies, <a href="http://www.turbosquid.com/" target="_blank">Turbosquid</a>.</p> Mon, 01 Oct 2012 18:00:00 +0000 Peter Ricchiuti 20985 at http://wwno.org Community Impact Series: Idea Village Water Challenge http://wwno.org/post/community-impact-series-idea-village-water-challenge-0 <p><em>A new tool to channel private investment into wetlands restoration is one example of how the Idea Village and its Water Challenge are helping turn vexing problems into promising opportunities. </em></p><p> Tue, 25 Sep 2012 13:12:25 +0000 Ian McNulty 20573 at http://wwno.org Idea Village Water Challenge http://wwno.org/post/idea-village-water-challenge <p><em>With its annual Water Challenge, the Idea Village is trying to turn one of the region&#39;s most pressing issues into an economic engine.&nbsp; </em></p><p> Tue, 07 Feb 2012 14:14:48 +0000 Ian McNulty 4931 at http://wwno.org