Andre Perry http://wwno.org en How To Leave New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/how-leave-new-orleans <p></p> Fri, 28 Jun 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Andre Perry 38395 at http://wwno.org Professional Identity Crises http://wwno.org/post/professional-identity-crises <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 10 May 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Andre Perry 35111 at http://wwno.org Meeting the Diverse Needs of Learners http://wwno.org/post/meeting-diverse-needs-learners <p></p> Fri, 19 Apr 2013 21:54:18 +0000 Andre Perry 33629 at http://wwno.org Teachers and Testing on Trial http://wwno.org/post/teachers-and-testing-trial <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Teachers have taken a </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">by any means necessary</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> approach to closing the achievement gap even at the expense of student learning. Georgia’s Fulton County District Court indicted 35 educators, including former Superintendent Beverly Hall, for a cheating scheme that ultimately produced the wrong kind of results. Dozens of Atlanta public schools teachers, leaders and other personnel are turning themselves in to authorities.</span></p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Andre Perry 32636 at http://wwno.org How Do You Like That White Chocolate? http://wwno.org/post/how-do-you-white-chocolate <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">How do you like that white chocolate?</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">According to units sold, America apparently loves it. White soul man Justin Timberlake sold approximately a million copies of his new album&nbsp;</span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">The 20/20 Experience</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> in its first week — his highest first week gains to date. His totals are outpacing his black contemporaries.</span></p> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 21:51:00 +0000 Andre Perry 32216 at http://wwno.org Priuses and Haircuts (Shouldn't) Reduce Crime http://wwno.org/post/priuses-and-haircuts-shouldnt-reduce-crime <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A few weeks ago, the New Orleans Inspector General reported that he could not tell if the </span>NOPD<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> institutionalized racial profiling, because the department used such crude methods in collecting data during its stop and frisk program.</span></p> Fri, 22 Mar 2013 21:49:00 +0000 Andre Perry 31790 at http://wwno.org Looking Beyond Test Scores to Community http://wwno.org/post/looking-beyond-test-scores-community <p>You have got&nbsp;to see this handsome, new public elementary school located in New Orleans. We could easily walk to this inclusive building as most children who live near the school do.</p><p>In this neighborhood, the question of will you send your child to a public school isn’t analogous to Abraham's willingness to sacrifice Isaac. The neighborhood chooses to walk to school together.</p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 22:49:00 +0000 Andre Perry 30363 at http://wwno.org Public Education Needs Xavier Prep http://wwno.org/post/public-education-needs-xavier-prep <p>In an era of school takeover, the response of Xavier Preparatory Academy’s closing reminds us why we still need our historically black institutions. Education should strive to form literate, cultural communities that realize self-reliance. This is true in general, but this is particularly true when educating the descendants of the formerly enslaved. Xavier Prep, St. Augustine High School, Dillard and Xavier Universities as well as SUNO remain some of the few places that promulgate the black middle class in both word and in deed.<br> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 22:50:00 +0000 Andre Perry 29856 at http://wwno.org Let’s Roll for “Dutch” Morial http://wwno.org/post/let-s-roll-dutch-morial <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Did you remember we’re in Black History Month? Whether you’re hobnobbing at a ball, chaired along a parade route, or&nbsp;drinking it up&nbsp;in the Quarter, raise at least one glass to New Orleans history makers. The onslaught of beads, high heal shoes and pink wigs can easily have you forget about Black History Month, but Carnival should always remind us of the tremendous contributions of Ernest “Dutch” </span>Morial<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p> Fri, 08 Feb 2013 22:49:00 +0000 Andre Perry 28904 at http://wwno.org Education Thirty Years From Now (Super Bowl LXXVII) http://wwno.org/post/education-thirty-years-now-super-bowl-lxxvii <p>Remember when football was king. Governments and their fanatical residents used to invest so much time and money just for a chance to say, “See, I won a championship. I live in the best city.” When you look back, you have to ask, “What were we thinking?”<br> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 22:45:00 +0000 Andre Perry 28394 at http://wwno.org