Jack Hopke http://wwno.org en Three Stories Of Renewal In New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/three-stories-renewal-new-orleans <p></p> Mon, 13 May 2013 21:39:30 +0000 Jack Hopke 35282 at http://wwno.org Meet Adam Norris, UNO's Director of Public Relations http://wwno.org/post/meet-adam-norris-unos-director-public-relations <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Public institutions of higher learning in Louisiana have been facing many physical and financial challenges in recent years.</span></p><p>However, an innovation at the<a href="http://www.uno.edu/" target="_blank"> University of New Orleans</a> attempts to attract and support highly qualified students whose fields of study will benefit both the institution and the city. Jack Hopke spoke about these initiatives with Adam Norris, UNO's Director of Public Relations.</p> Tue, 05 Mar 2013 18:46:57 +0000 Jack Hopke 30579 at http://wwno.org Hot Issues and Cool Drinks http://wwno.org/post/hot-issues-and-cool-drinks <p>How does August begin in New Orleans? With trumpeters sweating while they invoke the spirit of Louis Armstrong in the French Quarter, and with connoisseurs and dilettantes alike sweating through their white linen while cruising galleries in the arts district. Hot enough for you? Of course, that's not all there is to New Orleans in early August. We don't propose to cover everything in town in the next half-hour, but we do what we can. No sweat; it's <em>All Things New Orleans</em>. Tue, 07 Aug 2012 00:17:55 +0000 WWNO Staff 17278 at http://wwno.org Angola Prison Drama Club, Neighborland.com, and Mark Schliefstein http://wwno.org/post/angola-prison-drama-club-neighborlandcom-and-mark-schliefstein <p>New Orleans is a medium-sized city, but we share all the concerns and problems of the largest urban areas, and, in some cases, ours are sometimes even more pronounced. We'll look at a number of those situations on this week's edition of <em>All Things New Orleans</em>. Tue, 07 Aug 2012 00:03:52 +0000 WWNO Staff 17277 at http://wwno.org Poets, Politicians, Musicians, and Museums http://wwno.org/post/poets-politicians-musicians-and-museums <p>What are the chances of Bobby Jindal becoming Mitt Romney&#39;s running mate? Just what exactly is the Historic New Orleans Collection? Where is America&#39;s newest poet laureate from? And can you remember song writer Bobby Charles&#39; most memorable tune? We&#39;ll find out the answers on this edition of All Things New Orleans. Fri, 27 Jul 2012 00:46:59 +0000 WWNO Staff 16620 at http://wwno.org Good Times, Bad Times http://wwno.org/post/good-times-bad-times <p>This is New Orleans, one of the country&#39;s most distinctive cities. Many aspects of activity, identity, heritage and tradition shape that distinction. Some of those elements are good, some are bad. It&#39;s time to look at both. It&#39;s time for <em>All Things New Orleans</em>. Fri, 13 Jul 2012 00:58:22 +0000 WWNO Staff 15643 at http://wwno.org Radio and Theater Previews http://wwno.org/post/radio-and-theater-previews <p>When the visual media — TV and movies — bring you previews, they're essentially "teasers," extremely short snippets of quick-cut content designed to arouse your curiosity and interest and, sometimes, inflame certain passions. <em>We're</em> going to bring you some previews in the next half-hour, but <em>ours</em> will be extended, fact-based, informative and designed to arouse your curiosity and interest. We leave your passions up to you, here on<em> All Things New Orleans.</em> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 16:35:12 +0000 WWNO Staff 15233 at http://wwno.org Mark Romig, Robin Young, Bruce Nolan and Norhan Gokturk http://wwno.org/post/mark-romig-robin-young-bruce-nolan-and-norhan-gokturk <p>We close out the first full week of summer with a mostly &quot;summery&quot; edition of <em>All Things New Orleans</em>. Four different personalities discuss the economy, the media, the entertainment scene, and WWNO&#39;s new programming. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 17:04:39 +0000 WWNO Staff 14866 at http://wwno.org Speak, Eat, Dance, and Act http://wwno.org/post/speak-eat-dance-and-act <p>Time to relax with this week&#39;s <em>London Sunday Times</em> crossword puzzle. You know, that cryptic exercise with seemingly nonsensical clues made of puns and anagrams. You&#39;re trying to figure out the answer to this clue: &quot;The preacher eats pizza while watching a Russian ballerina and listening to a theatrical version of &quot;I Get a Kick Out of You.&quot; The answer has 19 letters. Got it? It&#39;s <em>All Things New Orleans</em>. Fri, 22 Jun 2012 16:49:23 +0000 WWNO Staff 14428 at http://wwno.org Foreign Artists Visit Louisiana and the Times-Picayune Slowly Dissolves http://wwno.org/post/foreign-artists-visit-louisiana-and-times-picayune-slowly-dissolves <p>It&#39;s time for the final spring edition of All Things New Orleans for 2012. On this week&#39;s program, we&#39;ll hear about the arts and hard news: a Texan visual artist, a French jazzman, and a disappearing local newspaper. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 23:35:00 +0000 WWNO Staff 13834 at http://wwno.org