news http://wwno.org en Here's A Scoop: When News Breaks, People Check YouTube For Videos http://wwno.org/post/heres-scoop-when-news-breaks-people-check-youtube-videos <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DSSssHxm4Y</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVkWkNgvvu0</p> Mon, 16 Jul 2012 11:42:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 15828 at http://wwno.org Community Impact Series: The Lens http://wwno.org/post/community-impact-series-lens <p><em>A nonprofit investigative journalism outlet is zeroing in on some of the changes around </em><em>post-Katrina </em><em>New Orleans in a new way.</em></p><p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 13:23:10 +0000 Ian McNulty 6497 at http://wwno.org Bad News In New Orleans: 'Times-Picayune' Slashing Staff, Going To 3 Days http://wwno.org/post/bad-news-new-orleans-times-picayune-slashing-staff-going-3-days The highly respected journalists at New Orleans' <em>Times-Picayune</em> last night found out the hard way — from another news outlet — that they're about to face deep staff cuts and that the newspaper will soon only print three days a week.<p><em>The New York Times</em>' Media Decoder <a href="http://mediadecoder.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/05/23/new-orleans-paper-said-to-face-deep-cuts-and-may-cut-back-on-publication/" target="_blank">broke the story Wednesday</a> just before midnight ET.<p>Today, the <em>Times-Picayune</em> confirmed the news. Thu, 24 May 2012 15:34:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 11940 at http://wwno.org Caddo Parish water emergency stays despite rain http://wwno.org/post/caddo-parish-water-emergency-stays-despite-rain <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">SHREVEPORT,&nbsp;</span><font color="red" style="font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">La</font><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">. Mon, 09 Apr 2012 13:43:56 +0000 The Associated Press 8466 at http://wwno.org NOPD to conduct Uptown DWI checkpoint Thursday night http://wwno.org/post/nopd-conduct-uptown-dwi-checkpoint-thursday-night <p>The New Orleans Police Department will conduct a DWI checkpoint in the &quot;Uptown area&quot; Thursday night, from 9 p.m. until 5 a.m. Friday morning. Wed, 29 Feb 2012 20:39:56 +0000 Jason Saul 6226 at http://wwno.org ATNO 2/2/12 http://wwno.org/post/all-things-no-2-2-12-0 <p>Paul Maassen speaks&nbsp;with&nbsp;&nbsp;Peter Fos, the new President of&nbsp;UNO; Sharon Litwin scoops the details behind&nbsp;Krewe&nbsp;Delusional;&nbsp;and&nbsp;the new head of&nbsp;Build Now&nbsp;drops in for a visit.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 03 Feb 2012 17:08:07 +0000 WWNO Staff 4763 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Police Change Policy on Releasing Victim Information http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-police-change-policy-releasing-victim-information <p>The New Orleans Police Department will no longer release the criminal records of murder victims. The move comes after complaints that the policy only added to the stress of mourning families.</p><p> Thu, 02 Feb 2012 15:01:38 +0000 Eileen Fleming 4695 at http://wwno.org