New Orleans Times-Picayune http://wwno.org en Two Newspapers Battle It Out For The New Orleans Market http://wwno.org/post/two-newspapers-battle-it-out-new-orleans-market Last year when New Orleans' main paper, <em>The Times-Picayune,</em> laid off dozens of newspaper employees and cut its circulation to three times a week, residents were shocked.<p>Sharron Morrow and her friends had bonded over the morning paper at a local coffee shop for the past 20 years.<p>"I've stopped my subscription, and I mourn the paper almost every day," she says.<p><strong>Shifting Media Players</strong><p>Newspaper circulation has been <a href="http://stateofthemedia.org/2012/newspapers-building-digital-revenues-proves-painfully-slow/newspapers-by-the-numbers/">rapidly declining</a> Wed, 29 May 2013 20:39:41 +0000 Eve Troeh 36355 at http://wwno.org New News Habits In New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/new-news-habits-new-orleans <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 31, 31); font-family: minion-pro, Georgia, 'Times New Roman', Times, serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px;">A year ago today, news leaked that The Times-Picayune would cease daily publication, cut staff and focus on its website, NOLA.com. The paper and ink edition now hits doorsteps and newsstands just three days a week: Wednesday, Friday and Sunday.</span></p> Fri, 24 May 2013 14:25:43 +0000 Eve Troeh & Bevil Knapp 36039 at http://wwno.org Feds Want Info About 11 More NOLA.com Commenters http://wwno.org/post/feds-want-info-about-11-more-nolacom-commenters <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Federal attorneys have subpoenaed The Times-Picayune's parent company for information about 11 commenters on the newspaper's website, as part of an investigation of posts there by two federal prosecutors.</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2013 19:33:29 +0000 The Associated Press 26098 at http://wwno.org The Advocate gears up for New Orleans edition http://wwno.org/post/advocate-gears-new-orleans-edition <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">The publisher of Baton Rouge's daily newspaper says it is gearing up for a move into the New Orleans market.</p> Thu, 06 Sep 2012 22:12:26 +0000 The Associated Press 19475 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Examining News Outlets as Times-Picayune Cutbacks Approach http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-examining-news-outlets-times-picayune-cutbacks-approach <p>As the Times-Picayune cutbacks are looming, other media organizations are examining what comes next for news in New Orleans. Several ideas are in play. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 17526 at http://wwno.org Newhouse Says Times-Picayune Not For Sale http://wwno.org/post/newhouse-says-times-picayune-not-sale <p>Plans to continue the New Orleans Times-Picayune as a daily newspaper have taken a blow from its publisher. Advance Publications says it has no intentions of selling the paper.</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 15483 at http://wwno.org Foreign Artists Visit Louisiana and the Times-Picayune Slowly Dissolves http://wwno.org/post/foreign-artists-visit-louisiana-and-times-picayune-slowly-dissolves <p>It&#39;s time for the final spring edition of All Things New Orleans for 2012. On this week&#39;s program, we&#39;ll hear about the arts and hard news: a Texan visual artist, a French jazzman, and a disappearing local newspaper. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 23:35:00 +0000 WWNO Staff 13834 at http://wwno.org Times-Picayune Staff Continues Working While Efforts Focus On Finding New Owner http://wwno.org/post/times-picayune-staff-continues-working-while-efforts-focus-finding-new-owner <p>Now that Times-Picayune journalists have learned that half the newsroom staff is being cut, they now have to return from being the news to reporting the news. One is coping by trying to do the job at hand &mdash; one day at a time. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 13646 at http://wwno.org Longtime Times-Picayune Journalists Included In Staff Cuts http://wwno.org/post/longtime-times-picayune-journalists-included-staff-cuts <p>New Orleans is set to become the largest metro area in America without a daily newspaper.&nbsp;The award-winning Times-Picayune is laying off half its news staff.</p><p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 13543 at http://wwno.org Times-Picayune Staff Learning Extent of Job Cuts http://wwno.org/post/times-picayune-staff-learning-extent-job-cuts <p>Times-Picayune employees will be in meetings today to learn if they&rsquo;re losing their jobs.&nbsp;Leading advertisers are joining a campaign to fight the cutbacks. Tue, 12 Jun 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 13428 at http://wwno.org