advertising http://wwno.org en Mountain Dew Pulls Ad Called 'Most Racist ... In History' http://wwno.org/post/mountain-dew-pulls-ad-called-most-racist-history PepsiCo announced today that it was pulling a Mountain Dew ad from all its online channels, after it was buffeted by criticism.<p>Boyce Watkins, a professor at Syracuse University and an outspoken social critic, <a href="http://www.yourblackworld.net/2013/04/black-news/mountain-dew-releases-arguably-the-most-racist-commercial-in-history/">called the commercial</a> "arguably the most racist commercial in history."<p><a href="http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1706630/tyler-creator-racist-mountain-dew-ad-commercial.jhtml">MTV has the background on the commercial</a>, the last of three directed by Fri, 03 May 2013 15:10:18 +0000 editor 34581 at http://wwno.org Interviews: Child Welfare Expert Dr. Mark Courtney http://wwno.org/post/interviews-child-welfare-expert-dr-mark-courtney Jim talks with child welfare specialist Dr. Mark Courtney, from the University of Chicago, about foster care in Louisiana, and the challenges and problems therein. He's joined by Dana Hunter, from LSU's School of Social Work.<p>Advertising executive Hunter Territo, President of the American Advertising Federation - Baton Rouge, discusses the latest news on Governor Jindal's proposed tax reforms, and a threatened tax on media advertising.<p>Dan Borne, President of The LA Chemical Association and a deacon in the Catholic Church, talks about the new pontiff, Pope Francis I.<a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/wrkf/audio/2013/04/JES_031413.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><em> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 16:50:00 +0000 Jim Engster 31150 at http://wwno.org 'Meaningful' Ads Stood Out As Super Bowl Favorites http://wwno.org/post/meaningful-ads-stood-out-super-bowl-favorites <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2prAccclXs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMpZ0TGjbWE</p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 18:46:00 +0000 editor 28554 at http://wwno.org 'God Made A Farmer' And The Super Bowl Made Him A Star http://wwno.org/post/god-made-farmer-and-super-bowl-made-him-star <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sillEgUHGC4</p> Mon, 04 Feb 2013 17:47:00 +0000 editor 28546 at http://wwno.org Super Bowl Ads: Winners And Losers http://wwno.org/post/super-bowl-ads-winners-and-losers Some people enjoy the Super Bowl commercials more than the football game. Host Michel Martin and Tampa Bay Times media critic Eric Deggans run through the best and worst ads; from senior citizens making late night trips to Taco Bell to nerds getting really sloppy kisses. Mon, 04 Feb 2013 16:32:00 +0000 Michel Martin 28537 at http://wwno.org Gun-Control Battle Spills Over To Super Bowl Ads http://wwno.org/post/gun-control-battle-spills-over-super-bowl-ads <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZ5qb1CBDrk</p> Sun, 03 Feb 2013 17:49:00 +0000 editor 28491 at http://wwno.org For Super Bowl Ads, More Social-Media Savvy http://wwno.org/post/super-bowl-ads-more-social-media-savvy <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfCm9P8naDQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmIGTTy8pI0</p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 21:10:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 28401 at http://wwno.org Wacky Super Bowl Ads Are Already Getting Serious Play http://wwno.org/post/wacky-super-bowl-ads-are-already-getting-serious-play <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H0xPWAtaa8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvxZcULxfKw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uFQAqwbwSg</p> Fri, 01 Feb 2013 14:36:00 +0000 editor 28353 at http://wwno.org Jamaica Embraces Controversial Super Bowl Ad http://wwno.org/post/jamaica-embraces-controversial-super-bowl-ad <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The predominantly black country of Jamaica is embracing a controversial&nbsp;<font color="red">Super</font>&nbsp;<font color="red">Bowl</font>&nbsp;commercial that depicts a white office worker from the U.S. Midwest feigning the Caribbean island's lilting patois accent to display a cheerful, upbeat outlook.</p> Thu, 31 Jan 2013 17:50:46 +0000 The Associated Press 28270 at http://wwno.org At a Glance: 5 Super Bowl Ad Teasers to Watch Before the Game http://wwno.org/post/glance-5-super-bowl-ad-teasers-watch-game <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">At least 15 advertisers are expected to launch teasers for their ads running during Super Bowl&nbsp;XLVII. The goal is to create interest for ads without spilling the beans on the Game Day spot. Here are 5 teaser ads to seek out online before the game on Sunday:</p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 17:45:12 +0000 The Associated Press 28159 at http://wwno.org