dining http://wwno.org en Where Y'Eat: Something New Between The Bread At The Sammich http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-something-new-between-bread-sammich <p><em>An exploration of a new po-boy shop with some different ideas for New Orleans' favorite sandwich, and some po-boy wine pairings too.</em></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 64196 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A New Look For New Orleans Barbecue http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-new-look-new-orleans-barbecue <p><em>There is a growing number of options for New Orleans barbecue fanatics, and, at new shop in particular, a distinctly local view at the smoker. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It can be a tricky business to declare something a "golden age" while you’re right in the midst of it. That sort of analysis is usually better left to hindsight. But still, for barbecue fanatics, there has probably never been a better time to be alive and eating in New Orleans than right now.</span></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 21:33:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 62026 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Pop-Up Restaurants Go Permanent http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-pop-restaurants-go-permanent <p>After building familiarity and followings,&nbsp;one-time pop-up dining concepts are making the leap to become fulltime restaurants around New Orleans.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 61631 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: When Suppertime Meets Showtime http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-when-suppertime-meets-showtime <p><em>New Orleans is obsessed with food and music, but how often do they share equal billing under the same roof here? We've</em><em>&nbsp;scouted some new and old favorite options, from barbecue with blues to contemporary jazz with Creole flavors. </em></p> Thu, 15 May 2014 21:41:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 60650 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Not-So-Simple Math For Restaurant Growth http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-not-so-simple-math-restaurant-growth <p><em>From physical expansions to spin-offs to a high-profile second concept, ambitious chefs are finding different ways to expand while keeping the dining options coming.</em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Open a burger joint or coffee shop and the path to expansion can be as clear as a roadmap: find a good location and replicate.</span></p> Thu, 08 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 60158 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Reeling Them In With New Approach To Gulf Seafood http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-reeling-them-new-approach-gulf-seafood <p>Unconventional cuts of fish, raw seafood and other changes are rising in popularity, adding to the standard lineup at New Orleans restaurants.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New </span>Orleanians<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> know the routine well enough: Lent arrives, jokes regarding the “sacrifice” of eating fish instead of meat make the rounds, and people start gorging on fried seafood platters, oyster </span>po-boys<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and the grilled fish du jour.</span></p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 56591 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Winter Colors On The Plate At Maurepas Foods http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-winter-colors-plate-maurepas-foods <p><em>After two years, the cooking at Maurepas Foods remains as eclectic and unorthodox as ever, and with the Louisiana winter settling in its minutely seasonal menu is at its most lush.</em></p> Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:36:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 51307 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: A New Day For The Beignet http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-new-day-beignet <p><em>The beignet, long an emblem of New Orleans food culture, is experiencing a revival across town, from classic renditions to modern interpretations. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It's easy to imagine how someone could walk into the Morning Call Coffee Stand in City Park for the first time and see the place as an act of historic preservation.</span></p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 51305 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: Act Two For Tujague's http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-act-two-tujagues <p><em>Back from the brink, a Creole culinary landmark in the French Quarter has been revived and retooled by the next generation. </em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">During a recent lunch at </span>Tujague’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;">, a man asked his waiter if he was familiar enough with the seafood gumbo to recommend it. “Of course,” the waiter declared. “I’ve been working here for 30 years; it’s always been good.”</span></p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 22:37:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 50744 at http://wwno.org Where Y'Eat: After Hours Eats For The Holiday Season http://wwno.org/post/where-yeat-after-hours-eats-holiday-season <p><em>A growing niche in the New Orleans dining scene splits the difference between restaurant and lounge, and they'll be in demand this season for the holiday after-party circuit.</em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">On a recent Friday night at the new Uptown nightspot Ivy, the wait staff seemed to be in perpetual motion, whisking around tightly-spaced tables with plates of crab claws, sliced Italian meats curled on wooden platters and amber-hued Old Fashioned cocktails in rocks glasses the size of goblets.</span></p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:35:00 +0000 Ian McNulty 49969 at http://wwno.org