disaster preparedness http://wwno.org en New Orleans Flood Protection: Stronger Than Ever, Weaker Than Intended http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-flood-protection-stronger-ever-weaker-intended <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 2014 hurricane season has started, and New Orleans metro area residents are living behind a new, $14.5 billion storm surge system acknowledged as the best they have ever had.&nbsp;</span></p><p>But <a href="http://thelensnola.org/2014/05/15/new-orleans-flood-protection-system-stronger-than-ever-weaker-than-it-was-supposed-to-be/">an investigation by The Lens</a> shows this best-ever is still not as good as Congress originally ordered it to be.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 17:35:40 +0000 Farrar Hudkins & Bob Marshall 62009 at http://wwno.org Listening Post Asks: Are You Ready For Hurricane Season? http://wwno.org/post/listening-post-asks-are-you-ready-hurricane-season <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">Every week&nbsp;WWNO's&nbsp;</span><a href="http://listeningpostnola.tumblr.com/" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(12, 76, 162); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;" target="_blank">Listening Post project</a><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15px; line-height: 22px;">&nbsp;asks questions about local news in New Orleans and the Gulf Coast and reports back on the community's response. This week's topic is hurricane season.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Hear that? That ominous music playing on the evening news? It can only mean one thing: hurricane season is here and it's time to&nbsp;</span><strong style="line-height: 1.5;"><em>get ready.</em></strong></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Kate Richardson 61974 at http://wwno.org Local Officials Urge Early Preparation For 2014 Hurricane Season http://wwno.org/post/local-officials-urge-early-preparation-2014-hurricane-season <p>To mark the start of the 2014 hurricane season, parish presidents, city officials, and representatives from the levee boards and the national weather service met Friday at the <a href="http://www.portno.com/">Port of New Orleans</a> and pledged to work together to make it a safe one.<br /><br />The city’s deputy mayor for public safety, Jerry Sneed, says Hurricane Katrina drove home the point that planning for a hurricane means working together.<br /> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 21:09:22 +0000 Janaya Williams 61965 at http://wwno.org Even Small Storm Surges Will Swamp I-10 Evacuation Routes http://wwno.org/post/even-small-storm-surges-will-swamp-i-10-evacuation-routes <p></p><p>Unprotected sections of Interstate 10, to the east and west of the city, will be swamped by storm surge even during a smaller storm, <a href="http://thelensnola.org/2014/05/28/no-escape-if-youre-late-even-small-surges-will-flood-sections-of-i-10-east-and-west/" target="_blank">The Lens is reporting</a>.</p> Wed, 28 May 2014 15:55:15 +0000 Jason Saul 61569 at http://wwno.org A State Tax Holiday For Buying Emergency Supplies http://wwno.org/post/state-tax-holiday-buying-emergency-supplies <p>On May 24 and 25, purchases of flashlights, batteries, portable generators and other emergency supplies are free from Louisiana's 4 percent state sales tax.<br /><br />The Louisiana Hurricane Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday gives residents a chance to prepare for storm season, which begins June 1.<br /><br />The sales tax holiday applies to the first $1,500 of the purchase price of each item, according to Revenue Secretary Tim Barfield.<br /><br />Eligible items include: flashlights and candles, portable radios, batteries, and food storage coolers.<br /> Mon, 12 May 2014 20:47:23 +0000 Associated Press 60605 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Picked For Rockefeller Foundation List Of Resilient Cities http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-picked-rockefeller-foundation-list-resilient-cities <p>New Orleans made the first round of cities that will ultimately be selected by the Rockefeller Foundation for its&nbsp;<a href="http://100resilientcities.rockefellerfoundation.org/" target="_blank">100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge</a>. The international non-profit says New Orleans offers more than just water management ideas.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 49436 at http://wwno.org Major Construction Set To Begin On Lakefront Pumping Stations http://wwno.org/post/major-construction-set-begin-lakefront-pumping-stations <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Residents along the Lakefront are being advised to brace themselves for some major construction work. The Army Corps of Engineers is starting work on three permanent canal closures and pumps at&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">17</span><sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Street and Orleans and London Avenues.</span></p><p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 45620 at http://wwno.org Mayor Landrieu Says Federal Shutdown Not Affecting Storm Preparations http://wwno.org/post/mayor-landrieu-says-federal-shutdown-not-affecting-storm-preparations <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu says agencies throughout the region are working together in preparation for Tropical Storm Karen. He&rsquo;s confident emergency preparations are in place.</span></p><p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 45354 at http://wwno.org Gov. Jindal Declares State Of Emergency In Preparation For Tropical Storm Karen http://wwno.org/post/gov-jindal-declares-state-emergency-preparation-tropical-storm-karen <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal declared a state of emergency Thursday after Tropical Storm Karen formed in the Gulf of Mexico and threatened to come ashore over the weekend along the Gulf coast.</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 19:58:38 +0000 The Associated Press 45205 at http://wwno.org Hurricane Season A Bust? Don't Be So Sure http://wwno.org/post/hurricane-season-bust-dont-be-so-sure Back in May, several independent forecast groups predicted an <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/capital-weather-gang/wp/2013/05/23/its-unanimous-noaa-calls-for-very-active-hurricane-season-joining-other-forecasters/">especially active Atlantic hurricane season this year</a>. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 16:30:31 +0000 Scott Neuman 42529 at http://wwno.org