BP oil spill http://wwno.org en Funds Still Needed To Rebuild Cat Island, But Restoration Begins http://wwno.org/post/funds-still-needed-rebuild-cat-island-restoration-begins <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The 2010 BP Oil Spill ruined the Cat Island bird sanctuary, a pelican nesting site. </span>Plaquemines<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Parish got initial funds to restore the island, but has failed to raise the rest needed. Now, the project leader is starting restoration anyway.</span></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 22:37:22 +0000 Laine Kaplan-Levenson 64101 at http://wwno.org BP Asking Court To Order Some Claim Repayments http://wwno.org/post/bp-asking-court-order-some-claim-repayments <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">BP is stepping up efforts</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;repayment of claims it finds unjustified.</span></p><p>The company is battling the system established to cover damage caused by BP’s oil spill four years ago in the Gulf of Mexico.</p><p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 16:20:27 +0000 Eileen Fleming 63475 at http://wwno.org New Trial Granted For Former BP Engineer http://wwno.org/post/new-trial-granted-former-bp-engineer <p>A federal judge in New Orleans is ordering a new trial for a former BP engineer convicted of deleting text messages related to the 2010 oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It stems from comments the jury&nbsp;</span>forewoman<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;overheard in a courthouse elevator.</span></p><p>BP engineer Kurt Mix was convicted in December of deleting messages he exchanged with his supervisor. Prosecutors allege he was trying to obstruct a grand jury investigation. Defense attorneys interviewed jurors after the verdict.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 14:13:31 +0000 Eileen Fleming 62424 at http://wwno.org Court Told Fisherman Should Return BP Claim Money http://wwno.org/post/court-told-fisherman-should-return-bp-claim-money A court-appointed investigator says a fisherman should return more than $50,000 in BP</font>&nbsp;oil spill&nbsp;claim</font>&nbsp;money.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; line-height: 15px;">Louis Freeh, the former FBI director appointed to investigate&nbsp;<font color="red">claims</font>&nbsp;arising from the 2010 disaster, filed a federal court motion Tuesday to force the return of the money.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 12:32:37 +0000 Associated Press 62290 at http://wwno.org Legal Scholars Warn Levee Lawsuit Could Affect BP Spill Claims http://wwno.org/post/legal-scholars-warn-levee-lawsuit-could-affect-bp-spill-claims <p style="line-height: 11.25pt; background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial;"><span style="font-size:9.5pt; font-family:&quot;Verdana&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;color:#333333">Opponents of a bill that would derail a levee board's lawsuit against 97 oil and gas companies say experts are finding the legislation threatens claims against BP.<o:p></o:p></span></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 12:53:29 +0000 Associated Press 62058 at http://wwno.org Court: BP Must Pay Clean Water Act Fines http://wwno.org/post/court-bp-must-pay-clean-water-act-fines <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 12.727272033691406px; line-height: 15px;">A federal appeals court says BP PLC and a minority partner in the blown-out Macondo well cannot avoid Clean Water Act fines for the 2010 oil spill by blaming another company's failed equipment.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:02:12 +0000 Associated Press 61991 at http://wwno.org BP Asking US Supreme Court To Modify Claims Process http://wwno.org/post/bp-asking-us-supreme-court-modify-claims-process <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">BP is asking the US Supreme Court for relief from a damage claim process enacted after the 2010 oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. The oil company has lost several court battles to modify the deal.</span></p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 61127 at http://wwno.org BP Exec Who Led Cleanup Settles On Charges Of Insider Trading http://wwno.org/post/bp-exec-who-led-cleanup-settles-charges-insider-trading A former BP executive who led the company's cleanup of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/06/10/190413988/bp-ends-oil-spill-cleanup-in-gulf-except-for-louisiana">2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill</a> has agreed to pay $224,000 in penalties and restitution in a settlement with the Securities and Exchange Commission for allegedly trading on inside information on the disaster.<p>SEC regulators say Keith A. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:14:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 58735 at http://wwno.org Barataria Bay, 4 Years After The Deepwater Horizon Disaster http://wwno.org/post/barataria-bay-4-years-after-deepwater-horizon-disaster <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As Sunday’s four-year anniversary&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">of the BP oil spill&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">approaches, environmental groups headed out into one of the areas most heavily oiled in the disaster. There, they looked at what effects that oil could be having on wetlands, and inspected the latest damage from coastal erosion, ongoing before and after the spill.</span></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 12:30:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 58605 at http://wwno.org Gulf Health: 4 Years After The Oil Spill http://wwno.org/post/gulf-health-4-years-after-oil-spill <p></p><p><em style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong>This story has been updated with a response from BP.</strong></em></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">As the four-year anniversary of the BP oil spill approaches, a leading environmental group is warning that the event is far from over. Increased deaths of dolphins, sea turtles and other injured species are signs of continuing contamination.</span></p><p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 58059 at http://wwno.org