veterans http://wwno.org en WWII Museum Marks 70th Anniversay Of D-Day http://wwno.org/post/wwii-museum-marks-70th-anniversay-d-day <p>The National World War II Museum is packed with veterans, historians and visitors this weekend. &nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Today is the </span>70<sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> anniversary of the D-Day invasion.</span></p><p>The National World War II Museum — which opened as the National D-Day Museum in 2000 — is planning events throughout the day to remember the events that unfolded along the beaches of Normandy.</p><p>Among those attending are some of the veterans of that battle.</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 12:59:20 +0000 Eileen Fleming 62059 at http://wwno.org Senate Committee May Green-Light Two Louisiana VA Medical Clinics http://wwno.org/post/senate-committee-may-green-light-two-louisiana-va-medical-clinics <p>Louisiana will get another crack at green-lighting two long-delayed Veterans Affairs medical clinics in Lafayette and Lake Charles, the Advocate is reporting.</p><p><br />A bill by Veterans Affairs Committee Chairman Bernie Sanders will get a hearing in the US Senate on Thursday. The bill would authorize the VA to lease space for 27 clinics nationwide, including the two in Louisiana.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:57:59 +0000 Janaya Williams 61906 at http://wwno.org To Visit A Doctor, New Orleans Veterans Wait... And Wait http://wwno.org/post/visit-doctor-new-orleans-veterans-wait-and-wait <p>Bad news for veterans in the New Orleans VA system: The average wait time for a new patient is 38.3 days, putting it among the 20 worst in the country, WWL-TV is reporting.<br /><br />Less than 30 percent of new patients at in the Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System see a doctor within two weeks of seeking care. Two weeks is the target set by the Veterans Administration.<br /><br />The data was obtained by USA Today under a Freedom of Information Act request, and covers the period from October 2013 through March 2014.</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 20:59:25 +0000 Janaya Williams 61725 at http://wwno.org Slidell Veterans Cemetery Nears Completion http://wwno.org/post/slidell-veterans-cemetery-nears-completion <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Muddy roads will soon give way to asphalt and bare ground transformed with sod and landscaping as construction of the Southeast Louisiana Veterans Cemetery near Slidell enters its final stages.</p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 16:45:49 +0000 The Associated Press 52461 at http://wwno.org Northshore Vets Receive Local Help http://wwno.org/post/northshore-vets-receive-local-help <p class="p1"><em>When injured veterans returning to their homes from Iraq and Afghanistan weren’t finding the help they needed, one Northshore resident set out to correct the problem.</em></p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 13:30:00 +0000 George Bonnett 49937 at http://wwno.org The LPO — Honoring Our Heroes http://wwno.org/post/lpo-honoring-our-heroes <h2 style="font-family: 'Times New Roman', Times, serif; font-size: 18pt; margin-top: 0px; margin-bottom: 0px; line-height: normal;"><strong>Honoring our Heroes</strong></h2><p style="color: rgb(103, 103, 103); font-family: georgia, serif; line-height: normal;"><strong>A concert in collaboration with&nbsp;<br />The National WWII Museum</strong><br /><br /><strong>Monday, November 11, 7 p.m.</strong><br />US Freedom Pavilion:&nbsp;<br />The Boeing Center - The National WWII Museum<br /> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 19:00:00 +0000 WWNO Staff 47520 at http://wwno.org Veterans Job Fair, Business 'Boot Camp' Tomorrow and Friday At World War II Museum http://wwno.org/post/veterans-job-fair-business-boot-camp-tomorrow-and-friday-world-war-ii-museum <p>A jobs fair and business advice are on tap tomorrow and Friday for veterans. Social events are also planned at the World War&nbsp;II Museum. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 32929 at http://wwno.org VFW Offering Free Legal Clinic For Veterans http://wwno.org/post/vfw-offering-free-legal-clinic-veterans <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Veterans can get some free legal advice this week. The New Orleans VFW post is offering help from attorneys on a variety of issues.</span></p><p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 31415 at http://wwno.org Veterans Advocate Pushes For More Jobs http://wwno.org/post/veterans-advocate-pushes-more-jobs <p>Amid the parties and hoopla that come with a Super Bowl, there is some serious business going on behind the scenes. There’s a drive under way to get more jobs for veterans. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 28322 at http://wwno.org State Veterans Secretary Retiring, Interim Appointed http://wwno.org/post/state-veterans-secretary-retiring-interim-appointed <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Gov. Bobby Jindal says Veterans Affairs Secretary Lane Carson is retiring after four years, and his deputy will be interim secretary.</p> Sat, 29 Dec 2012 21:22:30 +0000 The Associated Press 25967 at http://wwno.org