Danziger Bridge http://wwno.org en Justice Department Appeals Danziger Ruling http://wwno.org/post/justice-department-appeals-danziger-ruling <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Justice Department is appealing a judge’s ruling that overturned convictions of five former New Orleans police officers convicted in a shooting during the chaos that followed Hurricane Katrina. That shooting of unarmed civilians left two dead and four wounded.</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 15:15:57 +0000 Eileen Fleming 46239 at http://wwno.org Judge Orders New Trial In New Orleans Bridge Shooting Case http://wwno.org/post/judge-orders-new-trial-new-orleans-bridge-shooting-case A federal judge ordered a new trial for five former New Orleans Police Department officers convicted in connection to the shooting deaths of two men on the Danziger Bridge in New Orleans.<p>The shootings gained national attention because they took place during the chaotic aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.<p><a href="http://www.nola.com/crime/index.ssf/2013/09/judge_grants_new_trial_for_ex-.html#incart_maj-story-2"><em>The New Orleans Times-Picayune</em> reports</a> the judge ordered a new trial because of the "grotesque" misconduct of federal prosecutors. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 23:11:00 +0000 editor 44157 at http://wwno.org Federal Judge Overturns 5 Danziger Bridge Convictions http://wwno.org/post/federal-judge-overturns-5-danziger-bridge-convictions <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A federal judge in New Orleans has overturned convictions of five city police officers charged in the shooting of unarmed civilians after Hurricane Katrina. The ruling is based on prosecution misconduct.</span></p><p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 21:05:23 +0000 Eileen Fleming 44138 at http://wwno.org Judge: Katrina Case's Leaks are "Serious Business" http://wwno.org/post/judge-katrina-cases-leaks-are-serious-business <p>A federal judge says he is determined to identify the source of leaked information about the Justice Department&#39;s probe of a deadly New Orleans bridge shooting following Hurricane Katrina. Attorneys for five former officers convicted of charges arising from the shootings claim media leaks blocked a fair trial.<span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:50:26 +0000 The Associated Press 13698 at http://wwno.org Judge Seeks Records Related to Leaks Probe http://wwno.org/post/judge-seeks-records-related-leaks-probe <p>A federal judge has ordered the U.S. Justice Department to turn over any documents that show they tried to determine whether somebody leaked confidential information about its probe of deadly police shootings on a bridge after Hurricane Katrina. The judge is planning a hearing Wednesday on the matter.</p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 18:20:55 +0000 The Associated Press 13613 at http://wwno.org Prosecutors: No need for new trial in Katrina case http://wwno.org/post/prosecutors-no-need-new-trial-katrina-case <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px; ">Prosecutors are urging a judge to reject defense attorneys&#39; claims that a &quot;secret public relations campaign&quot; by federal authorities deprived five former police officers of a fair trial on charges stemming from deadly shootings on a New Orleans bridge following Hurricane Katrina.</p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 21:39:08 +0000 The Associated Press 12927 at http://wwno.org Officials React to Danziger Sentencings http://wwno.org/post/officials-react-danziger-sentencings <p>Officials in New Orleans are reacting to stiff sentences handed down in federal court to former police officers convicted of shooting unarmed civilians. The&nbsp;case dates back to the chaotic days after Hurricane Katrina in 2005.</p><p> Thu, 05 Apr 2012 15:06:09 +0000 Eileen Fleming 8283 at http://wwno.org Five Former NOPD Officers Sentenced for Danziger Bridge Shootings http://wwno.org/post/five-former-nopd-officers-sentenced-danziger-bridge-shootings <p>Five former New Orleans police officers will serve from six to 65 years in prison for their parts in a notorious shooting after Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Two unarmed civilians were killed and four others injured.</p><p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 21:05:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 8249 at http://wwno.org Mistrial Declared in Danziger Bridge Case http://wwno.org/post/mistrial-declared-danziger-bridge-case <p>A federal judge in New Orleans has declared a mistrial in the case of a retired police officer accused of covering up a deadly shooting of unarmed civilians days after Hurricane Katrina. Eileen Fleming&nbsp;reports the judge is basing the decision on a statement the prosecutor made in front of jurors.</p><p> Sat, 28 Jan 2012 01:38:13 +0000 Eileen Fleming 4543 at http://wwno.org