Army Corps of Engineers http://wwno.org en Debris Found In 17th Street Canal Levee http://wwno.org/post/debris-found-17th-street-canal-levee <p>The US Army Corps of Engineers says there is no major threat from debris found inside the 17<sup>th</sup> Street Canal levee.</p><p>Corps critics aren’t so sure.</p><p>Chunks of concrete, bricks and glass were discovered during work to install sheet piling.</p><p>The Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection District—East has been assured by the Corps that the material is being removed.</p><p>Sandy Rosenthal founded Levees.org after the catastrophic levee breaches following Hurricane Katrina nine years ago.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 12:21:22 +0000 Eileen Fleming 64257 at http://wwno.org Major Construction Set To Begin On Lakefront Pumping Stations http://wwno.org/post/major-construction-set-begin-lakefront-pumping-stations <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Residents along the Lakefront are being advised to brace themselves for some major construction work. The Army Corps of Engineers is starting work on three permanent canal closures and pumps at&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">17</span><sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;Street and Orleans and London Avenues.</span></p><p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 45620 at http://wwno.org Ascension, St. James Want To Be Part Of Levee Plan http://wwno.org/post/ascension-st-james-want-be-part-levee-plan <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Residents and parish officials are lobbying the Army Corps of Engineers to include Ascension and St. James parishes in a massive hurricane protection project.</p> Sun, 06 Oct 2013 01:39:58 +0000 The Associated Press 45411 at http://wwno.org Army Corps Of Engineers To Close Surge Barrier In Advance Of Tropical Storm Karen http://wwno.org/post/army-corps-engineers-close-surge-barrier-advance-tropical-storm-karen <p>The <a href="http://www.mvn.usace.army.mil/Home.aspx" target="_blank">Army Corps of Engineers</a> will close the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway barge gate at the Inner Harbor Navigation Canal-Lake Borgne Surge Barrier, the agency announced today in a press release.</p><p>The barrier is scheduled to be closed at 2 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 3, according to Corps of Engineers spokesman Ken Holder.</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 18:26:03 +0000 Jason Saul 45195 at http://wwno.org Army Corps Of Engineers Commander Confident In New 'Risk Reduction' System http://wwno.org/post/army-corps-engineers-commander-confident-new-risk-reduction-system <p>New Orleans is facing the 2013 hurricane season behind a $14 billion system designed to protect the region from a 100-year storm. Wed, 26 Jun 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 38206 at http://wwno.org Mississippi River's Many 'Parents' Look To Unify http://wwno.org/post/mississippi-rivers-many-parents-look-unify Life on the Mississippi River is a roller coaster of highs and lows: record high floodwaters one year, a drought and near-record low water levels the next. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 19:53:25 +0000 David Schaper 34106 at http://wwno.org St. Charles West Bank Levee Gets Final Approval http://wwno.org/post/st-charles-west-bank-levee-gets-final-approval <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The Army Corps of Engineers has approved the third and final phase of the St. Charles west bank hurricane levee, which means all three phases of the levee project have corps approval to move toward construction.</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 15:57:16 +0000 The Associated Press 31076 at http://wwno.org Funding Crisis Looms For $14 Billion Hurricane Protection System http://wwno.org/post/funding-crisis-looms-14-billion-hurricane-protection-system <p></p><p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 19.56px; font-size: 16px; line-height: 24px; color: rgb(34, 31, 31); font-family: minion-pro, Georgia, 'Times New Roman', Times, serif;"><span style="font-size: 19px; line-height: 1.5;">Metro area residents probably know stories about consumers with big eyes and small wallets who become “house poor.” But in the years ahead they may become familiar with a new, more frightening term: “levee poor.”</span></p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 16:27:25 +0000 Bob Marshall 31003 at http://wwno.org Corps of Engineers to Temporarily Close Belle Chasse Tunnel http://wwno.org/post/corps-engineers-temporarily-close-belle-chasse-tunnel <p></p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The Belle Chasse Tunnel is closing for a week for work to stop groundwater from leaking into the tunnel.</p> Mon, 11 Mar 2013 13:18:30 +0000 The Associated Press 30947 at http://wwno.org Staffing Could be Cut at Calcasieu Lock http://wwno.org/post/staffing-could-be-cut-calcasieu-lock <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The staff at the Calcasieu Lock could be cut by half within the next 18 months because less federal money could be allocated to its operation and maintenance, the Army Corps of Engineers says.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Lockmaster Kevin Galley told a ports group meeting this past week that traffic will experience slowdowns in going through the lock.</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 19:00:00 +0000 The Associated Press 27004 at http://wwno.org