Trey Graham http://wwno.org en Twins Or 'Enemy' — And What Could It All Mean? http://wwno.org/post/twins-or-enemy-and-what-could-it-all-mean Strange and stylish and surpassingly dark, Denis Villeneuve's <em>Enemy — </em>especially<em> </em>paired with the same director's recent cop thriller<em> Prisoners </em>— makes a strong case for star Jake Gyllenhaal as maybe our most enigmatic young leading man.<p>He was twitchily fascinating in <em>Prisoners</em>, playing a character who'd prove a hero but who still seemed to be hiding some darkness, some damage, right up until the credits rolled. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 02:42:24 +0000 Trey Graham 56395 at http://wwno.org 'Particle Fever': Thrills, Chills And High Subatomic Drama http://wwno.org/post/particle-fever-thrills-chills-and-high-subatomic-drama All you really need to know about <em>Particle Fever </em>is that it includes footage of physicists rapping. About physics. Wearing giant Einstein masks.<p>It's that blend of earnestness and abandon that informs Mark Levinson's utterly absorbing documentary, a chronicle of the launch of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/135761885/large-hadron-collider">Large Hadron Collider</a> and the search for the fabled Higgs boson, a subatomic particle long theorized but never located. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:43:14 +0000 Trey Graham 56217 at http://wwno.org 'Kids For Cash,' Or Perhaps Not — But A Broken System For Sure http://wwno.org/post/kids-cash-or-perhaps-not-broken-system-sure <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KX585IqNRq4</p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 21:48:42 +0000 Trey Graham 56026 at http://wwno.org '12 Years A Slave,' 'Gravity' Win Big At The Oscars http://wwno.org/post/12-years-slave-gravity-win-big-oscars After several days of heavy rain in Los Angeles, the sun came out just as the 86th annual Academy Awards got underway at the Dolby Theater.<p>The big award of the night, for Best Picture, went to <em>12 Years a Slave</em>. The film tells the harrowing tale of Solomon Northup, a free black man in New York who was sold into slavery. (See the <a href="#winners">full list of winners</a> below.)<p>The big acting awards went to Matthew McConaughey and Cate Blanchett. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 07:00:42 +0000 Trey Graham & Steve Mulllis 55014 at http://wwno.org Clip Job: 'Five Dances,' One Sweetly Moving Romance http://wwno.org/post/clip-job-five-dances-one-sweetly-moving-romance <em>Five Dances</em> might be the least talky movie I've seen in months — but it's plenty expressive. Sat, 12 Oct 2013 18:47:56 +0000 Trey Graham 45826 at http://wwno.org Don't Worry, Kids, These (Sex) Addicts Are All Right http://wwno.org/post/dont-worry-kids-these-sex-addicts-are-all-right Somewhere between Tim Robbins' angry assumption about his wife's pain pills and Pink's ecstatic-dance excursion with the guy from <em>Book of Mormon,</em> I realized that the dealing-with-addiction drama <em>Thanks for Sharing</em> really, really wanted to tell me everything it knows about life in recovery. As a critic, I've gotta acknowledge the problems that kind of crowding creates for a storyteller. Fri, 20 Sep 2013 01:21:30 +0000 Trey Graham 44350 at http://wwno.org When A 'Total Eclipse' Leads To Some Serious Exposure http://wwno.org/post/when-total-eclipse-leads-some-serious-exposure <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3DlDPeurRw</p> Sun, 18 Aug 2013 00:59:09 +0000 Trey Graham 41976 at http://wwno.org Guy Pearce, We Are Pleased To Find You Looking Vaguely Disreputable In 'Jack Irish' http://wwno.org/post/guy-pearce-we-are-pleased-find-you-looking-vaguely-disreputable-jack-irish With Linda still out at the TCA gathering, TV is much on our minds. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 14:08:29 +0000 Trey Graham 41271 at http://wwno.org In Which We Consider 'Turbo,' But Do Not Quite Write A Review Of It http://wwno.org/post/which-we-consider-turbo-do-not-quite-write-review-it When I was passing out assignments for this week's movie reviews, I noticed that none of my critics had raised a hand to bid for <em>Turbo --</em> you know, the DreamWorks animated comedy about a sheltered suburban garden snail who dreams of racing in the Indy 500, and the scrappy squad of Van Nuys strip-mall snails who, with the help of an ethnically diverse array of down-on-their-luck shopkeepers, help him make that dream come true.<p>Wait, I think I've just figured out why I ended up with this assignment my own self.<p>So OK, this is not a film to be taken terribly seriously. Fri, 19 Jul 2013 21:16:21 +0000 Trey Graham 40015 at http://wwno.org Morning Shots: Not One But Two Bits Of Shark News http://wwno.org/post/morning-shots-not-one-two-bits-shark-news It is with some joy, and also a little trepidation, that the entire Monkey See family welcomes the news that <strong><em>Sharknado 2</em> is a thing that will happen.</strong> Because really, is that singular Sharknado lightning terribly likely to strike twice?<p>On the other hand: The sequel will be set in New York City, so consider the quantity of hipsters who'll face flying piscine peril. Fri, 19 Jul 2013 14:25:56 +0000 Trey Graham 39912 at http://wwno.org