Eleanor Beardsley http://wwno.org en Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://wwno.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 57860 at http://wwno.org Dans Le Train, French Spend Their Commute Learning English http://wwno.org/post/dans-le-train-french-spend-their-commute-learning-english On some French trains, the conductor's whistle signals more than just a departure. For commuters traveling on an express train from Reims to Paris — a 90-mile, 45-minute ride — it means the beginning of English class.<p>"Before the course, we were sleeping in the train in the morning," says passenger-student Gilles Hallais. "So I prefer practicing English."<p>Hallais, 44, is a journalist at French public radio. He says while he doesn't need English for his work, he does need it for his life. Sat, 29 Mar 2014 17:40:45 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 57316 at http://wwno.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://wwno.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:11:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 56813 at http://wwno.org As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://wwno.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 56637 at http://wwno.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://wwno.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 56158 at http://wwno.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://wwno.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 56080 at http://wwno.org With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://wwno.org/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 55793 at http://wwno.org France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://wwno.org/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 53855 at http://wwno.org France's President Wonders: What Happened To My Privacy? http://wwno.org/post/frances-president-wonders-what-happened-my-privacy The French notion of respecting a leader's private life was once sacrosanct. President Francois Hollande wishes it was still that way.<p>For the first time, unauthorized, "stolen" snapshots of a French president have been published in a magazine. The photos reportedly show President Francois Hollande coming and going from the (until now) secret apartment of his alleged lover ... Sun, 19 Jan 2014 02:53:48 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 52367 at http://wwno.org Is This Arab Spring Country Finally Getting It Right? http://wwno.org/post/arab-spring-country-finally-getting-it-right Tunisia — the country that launched the Arab uprisings — is celebrating the third anniversary of its revolution Tuesday.<p>Since the departure of Tunisia's dictator, Zine El Abidine Ben Ali, there's been a struggle between religious and secular forces, which has been the case in other Arab Spring countries.<p>Egyptians are voting Tuesday and Wednesday on a constitution that's seen mostly as a referendum on the military that ousted an elected Islamist leader and has sought to crush dissent. Libya remains dogged by political turmoil. Sun, 19 Jan 2014 02:26:38 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 52354 at http://wwno.org