David Gilkey http://wwno.org en 1,000 Words: Afghans Engage In A Dangerous Game http://wwno.org/post/1000-words-afghans-engage-dangerous-game The "Horsemen of Afghanistan" playing Buzkashi — a <a href="http://apps.npr.org/buzkashi/" target="_blank">dangerous contest</a> in which riders vie for a goat carcass — in the northern city of Sheberghan near the Tajikistan border.<p><em>------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</em><p><strong><strong>The Protojournalist:</strong><em><strong> <em>Experimental storytelling for the LURVers – Listeners, Users, Readers, Viewers – of NPR. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:20:00 +0000 David Gilkey 62890 at http://wwno.org 1,000 Words: A Pet Reindeer In Nome, Alaska http://wwno.org/post/1000-words-pet-reindeer-nome-alaska A pet reindeer in a pickup truck. The reindeer's name: Velvet Eyes. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 16:13:00 +0000 David Gilkey 50075 at http://wwno.org What I Saw: A Photographer's Last Dispatch From The Philippines http://wwno.org/post/what-i-saw-photographers-last-dispatch-philippines <em>NPR photographer David Gilkey has photographed in extreme situations — from the surge in Afghanistan, to bombings in Gaza, to the tsunami in Japan, but he was shocked at what he saw in the village of Barangay 68 in Tacloban City, Philippines.</em><p>Nothing could have prepared me for what I was going to find when I arrived.<p>"Barangay," loosely translated, means a neighborhood or village and Barangay 68 is just one of the tiny hamlets that make up greater Tacloban City in the central Philippines. The village was devastated by Typhoon Haiyan.<p>A wall of debris blocked the streets. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 14:34:00 +0000 David Gilkey 48543 at http://wwno.org Looking Back To Move Forward: 13 Years Of Photographing Afghanistan http://wwno.org/post/looking-back-move-forward-13-years-photographing-afghanistan <em><strong>Editor's note:</strong> On his most recent trip to Afghanistan, NPR staff photographer David Gilkey shot this personal iPhone photo essay in his downtime. Sat, 27 Jul 2013 19:49:45 +0000 David Gilkey 40454 at http://wwno.org Dashing Through The Snow ... With A Reindeer In A Pickup Truck? http://wwno.org/post/dashing-through-snow-reindeer-pickup-truck As a photographer working for NPR, I travel the globe covering assignments with our reporters and correspondents. The logistics of getting into a place can be brutal, and rarely do photographs "just happen" without a tremendous amount of time and effort.<p>On a recent trip to Nome, Alaska, NPR correspondent <a href="http://www.npr.org/people/105678418/quil-lawrence">Quil Lawrence</a> and I were covering <a href="http://www.npr.org/2013/05/28/186454092/searching-for-veterans-on-alaskas-remote-edges">the challenges veterans face</a> getting care and services in remote places. Thu, 30 May 2013 23:50:50 +0000 David Gilkey 36439 at http://wwno.org Photojournalist ProFile: 'You Have To Be In The Middle Of It.' http://wwno.org/post/photojournalist-profile-you-have-be-middle-it <strong>My name...</strong> <em>David Gilkey</em><br /> <strong>NPR employee since...</strong><em> 2007<br /></em><strong>Public radio listener since...</strong><em> I was a kid and my dad drove me to school. Sat, 25 May 2013 17:45:36 +0000 David Gilkey 36135 at http://wwno.org A Glimpse Of Daily Life In Afghanistan http://wwno.org/post/glimpse-daily-life-afghanistan What <em></em>does daily life look like in Afghanistan? It's something we rarely see despite more than a decade of U.S. military involvement.<p>I'm filing from Kabul, where I will be for a few more days before heading south to Kandahar province. In the capital, there seems to be a resilience gained from decades of conflict.<p>Here you'll find a culture that is alive and thriving. The city nurtures a micro-economy of independent businessmen and women, buying, selling and trading wares.<p>Thousands of shop owners open their doors for business every morning. Mon, 30 Apr 2012 13:01:00 +0000 David Gilkey 9775 at http://wwno.org