Robin Hilton http://wwno.org en Question Of The Week: What's Your Go-To Windows-Down Song? http://wwno.org/post/question-week-whats-your-go-windows-down-song <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auLBLk4ibAk</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 23:25:23 +0000 Robin Hilton 62731 at http://wwno.org Ages And Ages: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/ages-and-ages-tiny-desk-concert Everyone knows there are five immutable truths in life. No. 1 is "Nothing's ever easy." No. 2 is "Nobody does the right thing." No. 3 is, well, you get the idea.<p>The Portland, Ore., band <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/246000370/agesandages">Ages and Ages</a> will likely make you rethink these immutable truths — particularly the whole idea about doing the right thing in life. Pay close attention to the second song the group performs in this uplifting Tiny Desk Concert, and you'll see what I mean.<p>The eight young men and women who make up Ages and Ages shower audiences with pure joy. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:02:02 +0000 Robin Hilton 62650 at http://wwno.org Timber Timbre: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/timber-timbre-tiny-desk-concert The music of Canada's <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/124498570/timber-timbre">Timber Timbre</a> is often strange and unsettling. The band, led by Taylor Kirk — a crooner with a deceptively sweet voice — makes spare, evenly paced songs that sound like late-night echoes from a swampy woods. Sat, 17 May 2014 23:07:26 +0000 Robin Hilton 60904 at http://wwno.org The Black Keys 'Turn Blue': The All Songs Interview http://wwno.org/post/black-keys-turn-blue-all-songs-interview <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C5a1Cl_JOJM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trk7P-9QDyc</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 18:46:11 +0000 Robin Hilton 60267 at http://wwno.org 'Ultra LP' Version Of Jack White's New Album Has Some Crazy Surprises http://wwno.org/post/ultra-lp-version-jack-whites-new-album-has-some-crazy-surprises <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-8B-_Jq2ro</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 16:59:37 +0000 Robin Hilton 60246 at http://wwno.org Tom Brosseau: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/tom-brosseau-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15129253/tom-brosseau">Tom Brosseau</a> possesses one of the most arresting voices in folk music today. Many people who hear him sing, without knowing his name or face, assume the voice belongs to a woman, as he hovers somewhere around the countertenor range, with an unusually pure tone.<p>The beauty of Brosseau's voice is magnified in this Tiny Desk Concert by the spare accompaniment of two acoustic guitars. Brosseau is on rhythm, accompanied by Sean Watkins. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 19:43:09 +0000 Robin Hilton 58461 at http://wwno.org Question Of The Week: The Last Song You'll Ever Hear? http://wwno.org/post/question-week-last-song-youll-ever-hear <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVBCE3gaNxc</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:03:01 +0000 Robin Hilton 58331 at http://wwno.org Question Of The Week: Does The Death Of An Instrument Break Your Heart? http://wwno.org/post/question-week-does-death-instrument-break-your-heart Few things make us cringe quite like hearing about the untimely death of a musical instrument. A table or an appliance may be swept away by a hurricane, or a set of golf clubs may be mangled by baggage handlers, but they don't hold quite the emotional pull of seeing a crushed guitar or piano. It feels like something living has died.<p>Airports are ground zero for some of the most painful stories. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 20:32:57 +0000 Robin Hilton 56924 at http://wwno.org Brass Bed: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/brass-bed-tiny-desk-concert It wasn't an easy road to the Tiny Desk for the four guys from Louisiana who make up <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/171818679/brass-bed">Brass Bed</a>. Their tour, for the band's debut album <em>The Secret Will Keep You</em>, was plagued from the start: Singer Christiaan Mader had the flu, there was a death in the family and multiple dates had to be canceled. Their van was broken into and their instruments stolen. So when they heard that a big snowstorm was headed for D.C. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 19:45:32 +0000 Robin Hilton 55914 at http://wwno.org Your Songs: A Listener-Generated Valentine's Day Playlist http://wwno.org/post/your-songs-listener-generated-valentines-day-playlist <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6lFxGBB4UGU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Krf2fyazu_o</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhMzZ_KCp_E</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvSY4NYkySM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6FXOVle3rs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OmOe27SJ3Yc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYJwYjanCRQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UIXs66BPooY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecxd9uzUbAE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwzdVHTNpXs</p> Sun, 09 Mar 2014 21:29:28 +0000 Robin Hilton 55379 at http://wwno.org