Nick Morrison http://wwno.org en Juan De Marcos And The Afro-Cuban All Stars: Dig That 'Dundunbanza' http://wwno.org/post/juan-de-marcos-and-afro-cuban-all-stars-dig-dundunbanza Many music lovers know Juan de Marcos González as the man who teamed up with guitarist Ry Cooder to create <em>Buena Vista Social Club</em>. But González was busy celebrating the history of Cuban music long before Cooder arrived on the scene.<p>Concurrently with the <em>Buena Vista</em> project, González was recording an album with his own band, <em>The Afro-Cuban All Stars</em>. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 19:17:33 +0000 Nick Morrison 30427 at http://wwno.org Bill Charlap: The American Songbook, Handled With Care http://wwno.org/post/bill-charlap-american-songbook-handled-care It's no wonder that pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15343365/bill-charlap">Bill Charlap</a> loves the music that has come to be called The Great American Songbook — the songs of great Tin Pan Alley composers such as Jerome Kern, George Gershwin and Irving Berlin. He grew up with it. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 18:29:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 23819 at http://wwno.org The Cookers: A Bebop Supergroup http://wwno.org/post/cookers-bebop-supergroup If we were to make a list of all the recording and composing credits of the members of The Cookers, it would go on for many pages. The band is an amazing collection of veteran jazz musicians: Billy Hart (drums), Cecil McBee (bass), Eddie Henderson (trumpet), David Weiss (trumpet), Billy Harper (sax) and George Cables (piano).<p>Individually, they've been at the core of the post-bop jazz scene for decades. As a group, they've been thrilling audiences around the world for the past 5 years. Thu, 19 Jul 2012 23:17:37 +0000 Nick Morrison 16148 at http://wwno.org Christian McBride: The Bass Boss http://wwno.org/post/christian-mcbride-bass-boss In the first generation of bebop musicians, Ray Brown was king of the jazz bass. Today, the "go-to" jazz bassist is <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15168606/christian-mcbride">Christian McBride</a>, so we were delighted to have McBride stop by the KPLU studios for a performance with pianist Peter Martin.<p>McBride discussed his formative years and the difference between playing with vocalists and playing with instrumentalists, and reminisced about Brown, his mentor. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 19:46:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 13723 at http://wwno.org Jack DeJohnette: 70 Years Of Propulsive, Percussive Mastery http://wwno.org/post/jack-dejohnette-70-years-propulsive-percussive-mastery It's turning out to be a great year for jazz drummer Jack DeJohnette.<p>In January, he was named an NEA Jazz Master for lifetime achievement. He began celebrating his 70th birthday early — it's August 9 — by going on a short performance tour this month with his old friends, Chick Corea and Stanley Clarke. The celebration continues this summer, as he tours Europe with the Keith Jarrett trio. Thu, 31 May 2012 21:52:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 12543 at http://wwno.org Jack DeJohnette And Friends: Miles On Their Minds http://wwno.org/post/jack-dejohnette-and-friends-miles-their-mind Drummer Jack DeJohnette was 23 when he made his first recording with The Charles Lloyd Quartet in 1966. Since that time, he's been a driving force in the world of jazz. This year, DeJohnette will celebrate his birthday all year long — the big day is actually August 9 — with special events, including his current tour with his old friends Chick Corea (piano) and Stanley Clarke (bass).<p>One afternoon during their four-night engagement at Seattle's Jazz Alley, this jazz supergroup visited the KPLU Performance Studio for a little conversation with jazz host Abe Beeson and a whole lot of music. Thu, 31 May 2012 21:01:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 12538 at http://wwno.org Lynne Arriale: A Dose Of Something Extra http://wwno.org/post/lynne-arriale-dose-something-extra When pianist Lynne Arriale released her first album, <em>The Eyes Have It</em>, in 1994, KPLU started playing music from it right away. It was clear to us that Arriale had that "something extra" that separates good musicians from great ones. Tue, 01 May 2012 13:46:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 9889 at http://wwno.org Yip Harburg: A Lyricist For The Ages http://wwno.org/post/yip-harburg-lyricist-ages During his 84 years on the planet, Yip Harburg contributed brilliant lyrics to some of the finest melodies of the American popular song canon.<p>Most of his songs were originally written for Broadway shows or Hollywood musicals. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 19:22:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 8994 at http://wwno.org