Margot Adler http://wwno.org en Eccentric Heiress's Untouched Treasures Head For The Auction Block http://wwno.org/post/eccentric-heiress-untouched-treasures-head-auction-block She had three apartments on New York's Fifth Avenue, all filled with treasures worth millions, not to mention a mansion in Connecticut and a house in California. But the enigmatic heiress Huguette Clark lived her last 20 years in a plainly decorated hospital room — even though she wasn't sick.<p>It's just one of many curiosities about Clark, the late heiress to the fortune of copper magnate Sen. Andrew Williams Clark. For years, even friends and family thought she was living on Fifth Avenue. Her lavish gifts to her nurse prompted a police investigation. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 08:40:00 +0000 Margot Adler 62741 at http://wwno.org New Yorkers Protest Long Shadows Cast By New Skyscrapers http://wwno.org/post/new-yorkers-protest-long-shadows-cast-new-skyscrapers Skyscrapers are a hallmark of large cities. Modern engineering makes it possible to erect something as tall as the Empire State Building on a very small footprint. Although developers love these buildings, in New York — the city of skyscrapers — residents have been <a href="https://www.facebook.com/CentralParkSupertowers" target="_blank">upset at the shadows they cast</a> over public spaces like Central Park.<p>Journalist Warren St. John first noticed the shadows when he took his daughter to a playground near Central Park's southern border on sunny, blue-skied fall day. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 22:42:34 +0000 Margot Adler 59235 at http://wwno.org On The Auction Block: The Stradivarius Of Guitars http://wwno.org/post/auction-block-stradivarius-guitars <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNrLvKJnpfI</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 22:11:11 +0000 Margot Adler 57539 at http://wwno.org Before The NBA Was Integrated, We Had The Black Fives http://wwno.org/post/nba-was-integrated-we-had-black-fives Most people have heard of the Negro Leagues in baseball and of Jackie Robinson breaking the color barrier in the late 1940s — but relatively few people have heard of the Black Fives, the African-American basketball teams that played up until the NBA was integrated in 1950.<p>An exhibit at the New-York Historical Society aims to rectify that.<p>When basketball was invented in 1891, it was a totally white game. In 1904, Edwin Bancroft Henderson, a black Washington, D.C., gym teacher, took a summer course at Harvard and brought the game back to black segregated schools. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 03:08:42 +0000 Margot Adler 56435 at http://wwno.org A Beer Backlash To LGBT Exclusion In St. Patrick's Parades http://wwno.org/post/beer-backlash-lgbt-exclusion-st-patricks-parades Beer makers Guinness and Sam Adams withdrew sponsorship from New York and Boston's St. Patrick Day parades, respectively, over the exclusion of openly gay, lesbian and transgender participants. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Margot Adler 56155 at http://wwno.org A Plan To Eliminate Wild Mute Swans Draws Vocal Opposition http://wwno.org/post/plan-eliminate-wild-mute-swans-draws-vocal-opposition A plan in New York state to <a href="http://www.dec.ny.gov/docs/wildlife_pdf/muteswanmgmtpln2013.pdf">eliminate all wild mute swans there by 2025</a> has drawn protests and petitions on all sides. While some see elegant white birds gliding across the water, others see a dangerous aggressor destroying the local ecosystem.<p>According to the state Department of Environmental Conservation, the swans — which don't honk but make hoarse, froglike grunts — are not native, and they destroy and attack native species. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Margot Adler 55603 at http://wwno.org Before He Fell To Earth, 'The Little Prince' Was Born In N.Y. http://wwno.org/post/he-fell-earth-little-prince-was-born-ny One of the world's most beloved books is <em>The Little Prince</em> by Antoine Saint-Exupery. Published in 1943, almost two million copies are sold every year, in about 250 languages.<p>If asked where you think the book was written, you might say Paris. You'd be wrong. Sat, 25 Jan 2014 17:14:00 +0000 Margot Adler 52768 at http://wwno.org Small Museum Shows Off Weird Objects http://wwno.org/post/small-museum-shows-weird-objects In this encore report, we hear about a small museum in an elevator shaft in lower Manhattan. It's only six feet square, and only about three or four people can enter it at a time. The exhibits document the weird and wonderful of modern life, including prison contraband made from bread. (This piece originally aired on Jan. 2, 2014 on All Things Considered). Fri, 24 Jan 2014 10:12:00 +0000 Margot Adler 52691 at http://wwno.org New York's Medical Marijuana Experiment Begins With Caution http://wwno.org/post/new-yorks-medical-marijuana-experiment-begins-caution New York is one of the only states in the Northeast without a medical marijuana program.<p>Gov. Sun, 19 Jan 2014 17:57:00 +0000 Margot Adler 52433 at http://wwno.org Letter From Gracie Mansion: The New Mayor Meets His City http://wwno.org/post/letter-gracie-mansion-new-mayor-meets-his-city I've always wondered what it would have been like to be at the White House in 1829 when President Andrew Jackson was inaugurated. He threw open the White House to the public and some 20,000 people stomped through, apparently causing a rowdy mob scene.<p>So I was intrigued with the fact that New York's new progressive mayor, Bill de Blasio, planned to open Gracie Mansion to the public this past Sunday. Sun, 12 Jan 2014 03:09:55 +0000 Margot Adler 51859 at http://wwno.org