Rachel Martin http://wwno.org en Local Views Of New Orleans' Changing School Landscape http://wwno.org/post/local-views-new-orleans-changing-school-landscape New Orleans marked a milestone last week. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:48:02 +0000 Rachel Martin & Anya Kamenetz & Sarah Carr 63631 at http://wwno.org New Orleans Closes Its Last Traditional Schools http://wwno.org/post/new-orleans-closes-its-last-traditional-schools Last week, the New Orleans school district became the first all-charter district in the country. NPR's Rachel Martin talks to Sarah Carr, a reporter who's been following the city's changing schools. Sun, 01 Jun 2014 11:46:00 +0000 Rachel Martin & Sarah Carr 61790 at http://wwno.org Tiny Liechtenstein Loses A Precious Quarter-Acre http://wwno.org/post/tiny-lichtenstein-loses-precious-quarter-acre The tiny principality of Liechtenstein spreads across a grand total of 62 square miles. Now, it's getting smaller. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Rachel Martin 58914 at http://wwno.org The Lingering Legacy Of The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill http://wwno.org/post/lingering-legacy-exxon-valdez-oil-spill Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>Here in this country, a barge carrying nearly a million gallons of oil has collided with a ship in Galveston Bay, Texas. Cleanup crews are on the scene, but there's no word yet on the extent of the damage.<p>The spill comes as the country marks a grim milestone. Twenty-five years ago, Captain Joseph Hazelwood made this emergency call.<p>CAPTAIN JOSEPH HAZELWOOD: Yeah, it's the Valdez back, we've, should be on your radar there, we've fetched up hard aground.<p>MARTIN: The Exxon Valdez oil tanker had run aground in Alaska's Prince William Sound. Sun, 23 Mar 2014 11:41:00 +0000 Rachel Martin 56805 at http://wwno.org After A Bitter Struggle, DSO Brings 'Joy' To The People Again http://wwno.org/post/after-bitter-struggle-dso-brings-joy-people-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86ukcgSnME0</p> Sun, 09 Mar 2014 12:40:00 +0000 Rachel Martin 55343 at http://wwno.org Is Rebuilding Storm-Struck Coastlines Worth The Cost? http://wwno.org/post/long-run-rebuilding-coastlines-could-prove-too-costly One year ago Tuesday, Hurricane Sandy bore down on the East Coast, devastating shoreline communities from Florida to Maine.<p>Many of these areas have been rebuilt, including the Long Beach boardwalk, about 30 miles outside New York City. Officials held a ribbon-cutting ceremony for the new boardwalk Friday.<p>Ninety percent of the funding for the restoration came from the federal government. The Federal Emergency Management Agency paid $44 million to repair the devastation.<p>Jack and Roseanne Vanderbeck love the new boardwalk. Sun, 27 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Rachel Martin 46731 at http://wwno.org Antibalas: Cooking Up Afrobeat In A Sweltering Kitchen http://wwno.org/post/antibalas-cooking-afrobeat-sweltering-kitchen Years ago, without setting out to do so, the Afrobeat ensemble <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15158396" target="_blank">Antibalas</a> jumped out ahead of the pop-culture curve in two ways. First, geography: The band was formed in Brooklyn in the 1990s, before the New York borough became the mecca of independent music that it is today. Second, the music itself: Afrobeat makes its way into lots of popular music today, but Antibalas was doing it before it had a mainstream foothold.<p>Antibalas contains 11 people, all hard at work in a complex musical machine. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 12:48:51 +0000 Rachel Martin & NPR Staff 26432 at http://wwno.org New NFL Record Holders Could Be Crowned This Season http://wwno.org/post/new-nfl-record-holders-could-be-crowned-season Weekend Edition Sunday host Rachel Martin talks with NPR's Mike Pesca about the sports news of the week, including some NFL records that could be topped this season. Sun, 23 Dec 2012 11:48:00 +0000 Rachel Martin & Mike Pesca 25584 at http://wwno.org Dave Douglas: Jazz Hymns Honor A Dying Wish http://wwno.org/post/dave-douglas-jazz-hymns-honor-dying-wish <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/17972185/dave-douglas" target="_blank">Dave Douglas</a> has been an important player in the jazz world for more than two decades, producing a broad body of work as both a trumpet player and a composer. Sun, 16 Dec 2012 17:43:12 +0000 Rachel Martin 25159 at http://wwno.org Rod Stewart: Big Dreams, Bigger Hair http://wwno.org/post/rod-stewart-big-dreams-bigger-hair <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LAdmdunWvsA</p> Sun, 16 Dec 2012 17:41:58 +0000 Rachel Martin & NPR Staff 25158 at http://wwno.org