Latest News http://wwno.org en Street Repair Plan Springs From 'Fix Our Streets' Movement http://wwno.org/post/street-repair-plan-springs-fix-our-streets-movement <p>Hundreds of people attended a meeting in Lakeview last night to find a way to repair the city’s crumbling streets. The discussion drew residents from neighborhoods across the city.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:06:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 65150 at http://wwno.org Funeral Services Set For Jazz Musician Lionel Ferbos http://wwno.org/post/funeral-services-set-jazz-musician-lionel-ferbos <p style="line-height: 11.25pt; background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial;"><span style="font-size:9.5pt; font-family:&quot;Verdana&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;color:#333333">Funeral services are planned for Lionel Ferbos — the 103-year-old New Orleans jazz trumpeter and tinsmith who died July 19.<o:p></o:p></span></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:06:00 +0000 Associated Press 65151 at http://wwno.org Arts Council Of New Orleans Receives NEA Grant For Youth Design Program http://wwno.org/post/arts-council-new-orleans-receives-nea-grant-youth-design-program <p>The <a href="http://arts.gov/">National Endowment for the Arts</a> awards $5 million of “Our Town” grants each year to organizations across 38 states that drive community development with the arts.<br /><br />This year’s local recipient of $150,000 is the The <a href="http://www.artscouncilneworleans.org/">Arts Council of New Orleans</a>, to support the Youth Solutions design program. Artists and designers teach design skills to local teenagers, who then work on improving their neighborhoods. They can design anything — from bike racks to benches to rain gardens.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:48:58 +0000 Janaya Williams 65125 at http://wwno.org National WWII Museum Welcomes 4 Millionth Visitor http://wwno.org/post/national-wwii-museum-welcomes-4-millionth-visitor <p><a href="http://nationalww2museum.org/">The National WWII Museum</a> has capped a record-breaking fiscal year with another milestone: welcoming its four-millionth visitor since its founding in 2000.<br /><br />Officials say visitation for fiscal year 2014 had exceeded 483,000, beating its previous best attendance year, fiscal year 2013, by more than 85,000 visitors.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:27:22 +0000 Associated Press 65124 at http://wwno.org United Houma Nation Gets Support For Federal Recognition http://wwno.org/post/united-houma-nation-gets-support-federal-recognition <p>The Terrebonne Parish Council has passed a resolution in support of the <a href="http://www.unitedhoumanation.org/">United Houma Nation</a> receiving federal recognition.<br /><br />The Courier reports the council also asked the administrations of the Biloxi-Chitimacha-Choctaw and the Pointe-au-Chien tribes to submit necessary documents to receive similar council measures of support.<br /><br />Potential policy shifts in the federal Department of the Interior may open the door for area Native American tribes to achieve federal recognition.<br /> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:18:59 +0000 Associated Press 65123 at http://wwno.org Drive To Ban Smoking Kicks Off In New Orleans http://wwno.org/post/drive-ban-smoking-kicks-new-orleans <p>A drive kicks off this week to ban smoking in New Orleans bars.</p><p>Councilwoman Latoya Cantrell is backing the idea. She says the change would benefit local businesses.</p><p>“This has been going on across the country for over a decade now," she said. "And so we have real facts that it is not a negative impact on our businesses. Actually revenues increase. And it’s cheaper to maintain a bar or lounge that is smoke free than one that is not.” &nbsp;</p><p>Cantrell says the effort will begin at various venues this week that are now voluntarily smoke-free.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 12:06:17 +0000 Eileen Fleming 65019 at http://wwno.org Jazz Musician Lionel Ferbos Dies At 103 http://wwno.org/post/jazz-musician-lionel-ferbos-dies-103 <p>New Orleans has lost one of its oldest jazz musicians. Lionel Ferbos&nbsp;passed away Saturday — two days after he turned 103 years old.</p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 11:04:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 65015 at http://wwno.org Largest Methanol Plant In North America Opening In St. James Parish http://wwno.org/post/largest-methanol-plant-north-america-opening-st-james-parish <p>Natural gas is abundant and relatively cheap along the Gulf Coast, since it's drilled nearby. It's also the key ingredient in producing methanol.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Methanol is a chemical that is used to make plywood, foam, paints, adhesives and other common household products. </span><a href="http://www.southlouisianamethanol.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;">South Louisiana Methanol</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is slated to be the biggest plant to make it. The final hurdle to business was finding a local natural gas provider.</span></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:34:26 +0000 Jesse Hardman 64854 at http://wwno.org China Company Investing Almost $2 Billion In Chemical Plant http://wwno.org/post/china-company-investing-almost-2-billion-chemical-plant <p>A Chinese company has announced plans to build a methanol manufacturing plant in St. James Parish. It’s the first major investment project by a Chinese company in Louisiana.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:06:00 +0000 Eileen Fleming 64743 at http://wwno.org Fishermen And Retailers Go High-Tech For Authentic Gulf Seafood http://wwno.org/post/fishermen-and-retailers-go-high-tech-authentic-gulf-seafood <p><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2013/02/21/172589997/one-in-three-fish-sold-at-restaurants-and-grocery-stores-is-mislabeled">Some studies</a> have found a one in three chance that the fish on our restaurant plates or in the seafood case at the supermarket is mislabeled. A cheaper fish like tilapia may be sold as red snapper, for example.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 02:59:28 +0000 Janaya Williams 64731 at http://wwno.org