Mandalit del Barco http://wwno.org en In Hollywood, 50 Is The New 80: What Happens When 'It Girls' Get Old http://wwno.org/post/hollywood-50-new-80-what-happens-when-it-girls-get-old There's no shortage of "it girls" in Hollywood — there's 31-year-old Lupita Nyongo, 24-year-old Jennifer Lawrence, 21-year-old Shailene Woodley, and even 16-year-old Elle Fanning. But what will become of their careers when they're older?<p>The industry is notoriously young; acting roles for women often dry up by the time they're 40. And in her new book <em>I See You Made an Effort, </em>Annabelle Gurwitch shares "compliments, indiginities, and survival stories" from the other side of 50.<p>"I'm 52, which is actually 82 in actress years," she says. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 13:51:56 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 63591 at http://wwno.org Settlement Brings An Early End To Apple's Price-Fixing Case http://wwno.org/post/settlement-brings-early-end-apples-price-fixing-case Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Apple has reached an out-of-court settlement with dozens of states and a number of other plaintiffs over e-book price fixing. The company was facing more than $800 million in damages. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 62784 at http://wwno.org Ruby Dee: An Actress Who Marched On Washington And Onto The Screen http://wwno.org/post/ruby-dee-actress-who-marched-washington-and-screen Born Ruby Ann Wallace in the early 1920s in Cleveland, actress and civil rights activist Ruby Dee most identified with the part of New York City where she was raised.<p>"I don't know who I would be if I weren't this child from Harlem, this woman from Harlem. It's in me so deep," Dee told NPR's <em>Tell Me More</em> in 2007.<p>She died Wednesday of natural causes at her home in New Rochelle, N.Y., surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was 91.<p>Dee, who took the surname of her first husband, blues singer Frankie Dee, grew up in Harlem's rich cultural neighborhood, writing poetry. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 23:43:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 62402 at http://wwno.org Authors Angered Over Amazon's Dispute With Publisher Hachette http://wwno.org/post/authors-angered-over-amazons-dispute-publisher-hachette Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>We've reached a moment that probably shouldn't surprise us when it comes to the modern publishing industry. A lot of people are addicted to buying books online using Amazon. But Amazon is now in a pricing dispute with the publisher Hachette. The online giant is refusing to accept orders for upcoming books from Hachette, which has a heavy-hitting roster of authors. NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO: Some authors are furious at Amazon.<p>NINA LADEN: They don't really care. Thu, 29 May 2014 09:11:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 61616 at http://wwno.org How Do You Get Latino Kids Into Classical Music? Bring The Parents http://wwno.org/post/how-do-you-get-latino-kids-classical-music-bring-parents Outside the concert hall at Occidental College, in Los Angeles' Eagle Rock neighborhood, children are invited to test out the instruments the Santa Cecilia Orchestra will play later. Alexa Media Rodriguez, 8, says she and her family have never before been to an orchestra concert. Tue, 27 May 2014 21:35:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 61537 at http://wwno.org Hollywood Protests Against Owners Of Beverly Hills Hotel http://wwno.org/post/hollywood-protests-against-owners-beverly-hills-hotel Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A landmark hotel in Hollywood has become the focus of protest. The hotel is part of an international chain. The hotel chain is owned by the Sultan of Brunei. He's the ruler of a tiny Southeast Asian country that recently introduced a strict form of Islamic Sharia laws. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 60412 at http://wwno.org A Film And Fashion Icon On Aging, And The Power Of Turtlenecks http://wwno.org/post/film-and-fashion-icon-aging-and-power-turtlenecks Actress Diane Keaton remains an icon, decades after her Oscar-winning performance in <em>Annie Hall</em>. At 68, she's a single mother of two, once romantically linked to some of Hollywood's biggest heartthrobs and still starring in films. And she still rocks her trademark look: a bowler hat, tinted glasses, oversized clothes, scarves, gloves, long sleeves and boots — "Clothing that actually hides the body," she says. "There's a lot to hide in my case. I'm the only remaining person on earth with this particular look."<p>For our interview, I wore a turtleneck sweater. Mon, 05 May 2014 21:43:34 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 60116 at http://wwno.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://wwno.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:38:12 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 58786 at http://wwno.org The Cross-Cultural Travels Of A Singing Doctor http://wwno.org/post/cross-cultural-travels-singing-doctor <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ylsfuC9xFI</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 19:59:34 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 58472 at http://wwno.org Jesse Winchester, Musician And Muse To Icons, Dies At 69 http://wwno.org/post/jesse-winchester-musician-and-muse-icons-dies-69 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uKGWpqnS8E</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 22:05:07 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 58357 at http://wwno.org