Blake Farmer http://wwno.org en Remembering Ray Price, Voice Of The Nashville Sound http://wwno.org/post/remembering-ray-price-voice-nashville-sound <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s1ZKIX0ICZo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1qqbc17ay8</p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:50:14 +0000 Blake Farmer 50649 at http://wwno.org Country Music Legend Ray Price Dies At 87 http://wwno.org/post/country-music-legend-ray-price-dies-87 Country music singer and songwriter Ray Price died Monday at the age of 87 at his ranch in Texas. Price was a Grammy Award Winner and who had more than 100 country hits in his decades-long career. A 1996 Country Music Hall of Fame inductee, he was credited with pioneering a shuffle beat and walking bass line that became standard in Texas dance halls. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 01:06:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 50294 at http://wwno.org Volkswagen Union Opposed By Tennessee Republican Officials http://wwno.org/post/volkswagen-union-opposed-tennessee-republican-officials When it comes to union organizing at an auto plant, the tension is typically between the workers and the management. But not at Volkswagen in Tennessee. There, the United Auto Workers is attempting to finally unionize the automaker's first foreign-owned plant in the South. And so far, Republican officials are the ones trying to stand in the way.<p>Just outside Chattanooga, in an idyllic industrial park, surrounded by green hills and even a nature park, Volkswagen built a plant a few years ago. It is still Volkswagen's only car plant in the U.S. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 20:59:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 46456 at http://wwno.org Modern Hymn Writers Aim To Take Back Sunday http://wwno.org/post/modern-hymn-writers-aim-take-back-sunday <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZuIyrwSqHY</p> Mon, 08 Jul 2013 19:28:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 39082 at http://wwno.org Women In Combat Ban To Be Lifted http://wwno.org/post/women-combat-ban-be-lifted Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>On a momentous Thursday, it's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>We're expecting Defense Secretary Leon Panetta to make an announcement today. From now on, women will formally be allowed to serve in ground combat.<p>INSKEEP: To sense just how dramatic this change is, consider how many other milestones the military passed before reaching this one. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 11:45:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 27683 at http://wwno.org Vanderbilt Has A Banner Year On The Gridiron http://wwno.org/post/vanderbilt-has-banner-year-gridiron The Southeastern Conference (SEC) is college football's most dominant program. It has won the Bowl Championship Series for the past six years. And a record six SEC teams finished in the top ten this year. Another SEC team, Vanderbilt, is also doing well. Long the doormat of the conference, the private university known more for its academics is enjoying gridiron success. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 24486 at http://wwno.org Army Aims To Use Words, Not Weapons, With Afghans http://wwno.org/post/army-aims-use-words-not-weapons-afghans The U.S. Army has been ramping up instruction in the languages of Afghanistan, even as troop levels in the country decrease in preparation for the U.S. troop withdrawal in 2014.<p>This year, key installations have added several hundred speakers of Pashto and Dari to their ranks, more than doubling the number of soldiers trained in the Afghan languages.<p>But it's not just the country's languages that are foreign to U.S. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 22:49:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 19723 at http://wwno.org Tired Of Mowing Your Lawn? Try Foodscaping It Instead http://wwno.org/post/tired-mowing-your-lawn-try-foodscaping-it-instead When the economy began its steep decline in 2008, almost everything related to housing hit the skids, including the lawn and garden industry. But one sector escaped the pinch: food gardening.<p>In fact, <a href="http://assoc.garden.org/press/press.php?q=show&id=3457&pr=pr_research">food gardening sales</a> nationwide have spiked 20 percent since then, and they've stayed there. Sat, 02 Jun 2012 21:05:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 12710 at http://wwno.org As Bear Population Grows, More States Look At Hunts http://wwno.org/post/bear-population-grows-more-states-look-hunts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBCNJx-xi-8</p> Mon, 20 Feb 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Blake Farmer 5662 at http://wwno.org