Felix Contreras http://wwno.org en Ethereal Jazz Singer Jimmy Scott Dies http://wwno.org/post/ethereal-jazz-singer-jimmy-scott-dies Singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15395174/little-jimmy-scott" target="_blank">Jimmy Scott</a> died of natural causes Thursday morning at his home in Las Vegas at age 88, according to his booking agent, Jean-Pierre Leduc. <p>Scott suffered from Kallmann's syndrome, a lifelong affliction that prevented his body from maturing through puberty. The condition slowed his growth, leaving his stature at 4 feet 11 inches until his late 30s. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Felix Contreras 62460 at http://wwno.org The Grateful Dead's Ultimate 'Dark Star' To Be Reissued http://wwno.org/post/grateful-deads-ultimate-dark-star-be-reissued <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oMGUQTK8tXw</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 16:29:33 +0000 Felix Contreras 60238 at http://wwno.org 'Cesar Chavez': Discussing The Movie And The Man http://wwno.org/post/si-se-puede-cesar-chavez-man-vs-movie There is no music in this week's episode of <em>Alt.Latino</em>. Instead, we do one of our occasional "deep dives" into a subject to pursue insights and perspectives that help us think about more than music. This time around, the subject is <em>Cesar Chavez</em>, the recent biopic about the civil-rights activist and labor leader and the movement to unionize farm workers.<p>The film has been credited as an example of a Latino filmmaker telling the kinds of stories often ignored by mainstream cinema. Sat, 26 Apr 2014 17:55:25 +0000 Felix Contreras 59472 at http://wwno.org Federico Aubele: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/federico-aubele-tiny-desk-concert Argentine singer-songwriter <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=121339085">Federico Aubele</a> uses his dark, husky voice to produce a specific effect in the three songs he performs at this Tiny Desk Concert: Together, they jell into one impressionistic midtempo ballad.<p>A voice like Aubele's could be restrictive: His lower register seems to always reflect something dark and lonely. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 01:00:43 +0000 Felix Contreras 59038 at http://wwno.org Paco De Lucia, Modern Superstar Of Flamenco, Dies http://wwno.org/post/paco-de-lucia-modern-superstar-flamenco-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oyhlad64-s</p> Sun, 16 Mar 2014 20:32:43 +0000 Felix Contreras 55963 at http://wwno.org Sofia Rei: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/sofia-rei-tiny-desk-concert A drum from the Argentine Pampas fuels the music of Sofia Rei in this video: The way Franco Pinna has it incorporated into a traditional drum set serves as a musical metaphor for the music Rei performs alongside Pinna and guitarist/bassist JC Maillard.<p>Rei carries the accent and spirit of her native Argentina in her jazz-infused vocals. She's successfully carved out a spot for herself within a small and exclusive group of vocalists from Latin America who, after spending their formative years in their own countries, came to the U.S. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 18:48:48 +0000 Felix Contreras 55894 at http://wwno.org A Dictator And The Music He Loved To Hate: Spanish Songs Of Rebellion http://wwno.org/post/dictator-and-music-he-loved-hate-spanish-songs-rebellion <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JigJ2SDxNtg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tbq-N9g2as</p> Sun, 12 Jan 2014 04:56:36 +0000 Felix Contreras 51925 at http://wwno.org La Santa Cecilia: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/la-santa-cecilia-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/search/index.php?searchinput=la+santa+cecilia">La Santa Cecilia</a> spreads joy every time its members plug in to do a show. They do it one dance step at a time, with cumbias, corridos, elegant mambos and plain old rock 'n' roll.<p>I first saw La Santa Cecilia perform in an Austin, Texas, parking lot about five years ago. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:40:57 +0000 Felix Contreras 50647 at http://wwno.org Arturo O'Farrill: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/arturo-ofarrill-tiny-desk-concert Latin jazz works best when the musicians involved are as fluent in Afro-Cuban rhythms as they are in the deep grooves and advanced harmonics of bebop. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 14:16:05 +0000 Felix Contreras 44002 at http://wwno.org Buika: Tiny Desk Concert http://wwno.org/post/buika-tiny-desk-concert <a href="http://www.npr.org/search/index.php?searchinput=buika">Concha Buika</a>'s voice doesn't come from inside her petite body: It comes from Africa, and from the past. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 18:17:44 +0000 Felix Contreras 42580 at http://wwno.org