Ann Powers http://wwno.org en Miranda Lambert's 'Priscilla,' An Ode To 'Being Queen Of A King' http://wwno.org/post/miranda-lamberts-priscilla-ode-being-queen-king Pop stars are the ideal companions of their fans' daydreams, speaking their most romantic hopes and defiant declarations through the songs on the Top 40. Miranda Lambert, however, is the kind of friend who's not going to take anybody's bull. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:25:25 +0000 Ann Powers 63605 at http://wwno.org Why Tori Amos Connects http://wwno.org/post/why-tori-amos-connects When I spent time on tour with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182176/tori-amos" target="_blank">Tori Amos</a> a decade ago, collaborating with her <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Tori-Amos-Piece/dp/076791676X" target="_blank">on a book</a>, I'd see her invoke <a href="http://www.umich.edu/~umfandsf/symbolismproject/symbolism.html/F/fourelem.html" target="_blank">the four elements</a> many nights before her band would take the stage. Sun, 25 May 2014 18:21:37 +0000 Ann Powers 61352 at http://wwno.org Is It Worth It To Work It? http://wwno.org/post/it-worth-it-work-it <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zR6ROjoOX0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0CazRHB0so</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWo7SC-tG4U</p> Thu, 08 May 2014 23:02:29 +0000 Ann Powers 60388 at http://wwno.org God, Drugs And Lizard Aliens: Yep, It's Country Music http://wwno.org/post/god-drugs-and-lizard-aliens-yep-its-country-music <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWx6csgGkg4</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:37:01 +0000 Ann Powers 58750 at http://wwno.org Why We Fight About Pop Music http://wwno.org/post/why-we-fight-about-pop-music In 2007, the Canadian music critic Carl Wilson published a book-length experiment in extreme aesthetic sport: a sincere and shockingly comprehensive study of music he had already decided he hated. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:19:02 +0000 Ann Powers 58569 at http://wwno.org Listening In Reel Life: The Pop Music Inside The Oscar Nominees http://wwno.org/post/listening-reel-life-pop-music-inside-oscar-nominees The most romantic scene from any of this year's Oscar-nominated films begins with a deliciously idiosyncratic pickup line. At a swinger's pool party in 1978, a flabby yet still somehow alluring Christian Bale gently grabs the arm of Sydney Prosser, played by Amy Adams at her most wide-eyed and guileful. "Is that <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15396582/duke-ellington" target="_blank">Duke Ellington</a> on your bracelet?" he murmurs. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 21:54:57 +0000 Ann Powers 56035 at http://wwno.org Hurray For The Riff Raff's New Political Folk http://wwno.org/post/hurray-riff-raffs-new-political-folk How many choruses does it take to turn a party song into an engine causing social change? Is it possible to honor American cultural traditions while dismantling the traps and habits that make them restrictive? Every so often a new voice engages these basic questions in subtle, exciting new ways. Sun, 02 Feb 2014 18:07:29 +0000 Ann Powers 53271 at http://wwno.org The Knife On 'Shaking' Expectations http://wwno.org/post/knife-shaking-expectations <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W10F0ezCTIQ</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 22:16:23 +0000 Ann Powers & Jacob Ganz 51640 at http://wwno.org '12 Years A Slave' Is This Year's Best Film About Music http://wwno.org/post/12-years-slave-years-best-film-about-music <em>12 Years a Slave </em>is the most compelling film about music to be released this year, maybe this century. It's so many other things, too, as others have noted: a corrective to the weird cocktail of piety and cartoonishness that Hollywood usually supplies when depicting slavery; a gorgeous art film and an actor's hellish paradise; a cultural highlight of the Obama administration. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 19:41:02 +0000 Ann Powers 47966 at http://wwno.org Holding Music History In Your Hands: Why Archives Matter http://wwno.org/post/holding-music-history-your-hands-why-archives-matter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=as1rsZenwNc</p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 04:26:40 +0000 Ann Powers 47807 at http://wwno.org