Guy Raz http://wwno.org en Host ProFile: 'A Great Story Can Change You.' http://wwno.org/post/host-profile-great-story-can-change-you <strong>My name... </strong><em>Guy Raz.</em><br /><strong>NPR employee since... </strong><em>1997.<strong><br /></strong></em><strong>Public radio listener since... </strong><em>1995.</em><strong> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 22:55:34 +0000 Guy Raz 30379 at http://wwno.org Hollywood Writer's Gongs Still Going Strong http://wwno.org/post/hollywood-writers-gongs-still-going-strong Andrew Borakove was a television comedy writer in Hollywood when he realized he had to make a life change.<p>"A vision of a gong appeared before me, and I said a gong? I've never thought of that," he says. "And I started doing research and I said, 'Yep, I could maybe sell gongs for a living.' "<p>So he moved with his wife and two children to Lincoln, Neb., and opened <a href="http://www.gongs-unlimited.com/">Gongs Unlimited</a>, an online gong shop. Sat, 29 Dec 2012 22:17:00 +0000 Guy Raz 25975 at http://wwno.org The 'Bitter' Tale Of The Budweiser Family http://wwno.org/post/bitter-tale-budweiser-family For nearly 150 years the world-renowned beer manufacturer Anheuser-Busch was a family company. It was passed from father to son for five generations. A couple drops of Budweiser were put onto the tongue of each first-born son before he even tasted his mother's milk. That trademark brew, Budweiser, is known to the world as the "King of Beers," and the Busch family wasn't too far from American royalty.<p>William Knoedelseder, the author of <em>Bitter Brew: The Rise and Fall of Anheuser-Busch and America's King of Beer,</em> spoke with NPR's Guy Raz about the family and their company. Sat, 22 Dec 2012 22:11:00 +0000 Guy Raz 25576 at http://wwno.org Upended By Label Drama, Alex Clare Lands On His Feet http://wwno.org/post/upended-label-drama-alex-clare-lands-his-feet <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=daS6on_N7LE</p> Sun, 16 Dec 2012 19:53:00 +0000 Guy Raz 25163 at http://wwno.org Armed With Age And Experience, Soundgarden Returns http://wwno.org/post/armed-age-and-experience-soundgarden-returns <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeBjhpw_Ee0</p> Sun, 18 Nov 2012 21:33:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23658 at http://wwno.org A Far-Out And Forgotten Renaissance Man http://wwno.org/post/far-out-and-forgotten-renaissance-man Back in the 17th century, right around the time when the ideas of great thinkers like Descartes and Newton and Hobbes began to shape the world, a Jesuit priest named Athanasius Kircher also tried to make his mark.<p>Kircher was something of a jack-of-all-trades. He wrote more than 30 books; he was a philosopher, an inventor, a historian, a scientist. Back in his day, everyone knew about him. Sun, 18 Nov 2012 21:06:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23657 at http://wwno.org Kids Prove They're No Pawns In 'Brooklyn Castle' http://wwno.org/post/kids-prove-theyre-no-pawns-brooklyn-castle There's a public middle school in Brooklyn, N.Y., called Intermediate School 318, or I.S. 318. Like others in the area, it's a Title I school, which means it has a poverty level that's more than 65 percent. But unlike other schools, it's got the highest-ranked junior-high chess team in the nation. In fact, Brooklyn IS 3-18 has won more than 30 national chess titles.<p>I.S. 318 is the subject of a new documentary called <em>Brooklyn Castle</em>. Sun, 18 Nov 2012 18:56:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23655 at http://wwno.org Book-Vending Machine Dispenses Suspense http://wwno.org/post/book-vending-machine-dispenses-suspense Earlier this year, Stephen Fowler, owner of <a href="http://monkeyspaw.com/">The Monkey's Paw</a> used-book store in Toronto, had an idea.<p>He wanted a creative way to offload his more ill-favored books — "old and unusual" all, as the store's motto goes — that went further than a $1 bin by the register.<p>It came in a conversation with his wife: a vending machine.<p>"Originally, I thought maybe we would just have a refrigerator box and paint it to look like a vending machine," he tells NPR, "and put a skinny assistant of mine inside and have him drop books out when people put a coin in."<p>Bu Sun, 18 Nov 2012 17:59:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23654 at http://wwno.org Heidi: The Little Girl Who Changed Football Forever http://wwno.org/post/heidi-little-girl-who-changed-football-forever Forty-four years ago, a little girl changed the world of sports in an incident known today as "The Heidi Game."<p>That day — Nov. 17, 1968 — is when the modern age of football began, Dave Zirin, the sports editor for <em>The Nation</em> magazine, says.<p>The New York Jets were up against the Oakland Raiders. At the time they were two of the best teams in the American Football League, just before it merged with the National Football League.<p>It was a close game, with each team stealing the lead from the other six times before it was all tied up, 29 to 29. Sat, 17 Nov 2012 21:49:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23638 at http://wwno.org Ang Lee On 'Life Of Pi' And Being A Slave To Film http://wwno.org/post/ang-lee-life-pi-and-being-slave-film Director Ang Lee's new film, <em>Life of Pi,</em> tells the story of a 16-year-old Indian boy who is the lone survivor of a terrible shipwreck. Pi Patel finds himself lost at sea, alone on a boat with a Bengal tiger.<p>The film is based on Yann Martel's fantasy novel of the same name. The book won the 2002 Man Booker prize for fiction and was optioned to be turned into a film even though it was considered by many in Hollywood to be unfilmable: How do you make a movie that takes place almost entirely on a boat? Sat, 17 Nov 2012 20:52:00 +0000 Guy Raz 23637 at http://wwno.org