John Ydstie http://wwno.org en In May Jobs Report, A Milestone: A Return To Pre-Recession Levels http://wwno.org/post/may-jobs-report-milestone-return-pre-recession-levels The May jobs report showed steady job creation. Payrolls expanded by 217,000, and unemployment held steady at 6.3%. And there was a milestone: The U.S. economy now has slightly more jobs than it did in December 2007, when the last recession began. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 John Ydstie 62094 at http://wwno.org New Pollution Rules Leave Utilities Frustrated, As Details Remain Up In Air http://wwno.org/post/new-pollution-rules-leave-utilities-frustrated-details-remain-air The Obama administration has proposed rules for limiting greenhouse gases, but many of the details must still be set by states, leaving utilities unsure about specifics they'll be expected to achieve. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 20:08:00 +0000 John Ydstie 61951 at http://wwno.org Study Questions Need For Employer Health Care Requirement http://wwno.org/post/study-questions-need-employer-health-care-requirement When the Affordable Care Act was unveiled, business groups railed against the provision that requires companies with 50 or more employees to provide health insurance for their full-time workers.<p>The Obama administration responded by pushing back the deadline for the coverage, so it hasn't yet taken effect. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:21:00 +0000 John Ydstie 61586 at http://wwno.org The Merits Of Income Inequality: What's The Right Amount? http://wwno.org/post/merits-income-inequality-whats-right-amount Income inequality is a big problem, many economists agree. But they also say some level of inequality is necessary for capitalism to work.<p>Inequality in the U.S. has risen to levels not seen since the 1920s. The top 1 percent pocket more than 20 percent of the nation's income, and the 400 richest people in the country own more wealth than everyone in the bottom 50 percent.<p>That's not healthy for the society or the economy, says Branko Milanovic, an economist at the City University of New York Graduate Center. Sun, 18 May 2014 09:29:00 +0000 John Ydstie 60928 at http://wwno.org Remembering Economist Gary Becker, Who Described 'Marriage Market' http://wwno.org/post/remembering-economist-gary-becker-who-described-marriage-market University of Chicago economist Gary Becker died Saturday at the age of 83. He won the Nobel Prize in 1992 for broadening the horizons of economics, using economic analysis to explore social issues like crime, racial discrimination and drug addiction.<p>Becker was a giant in the field of economics, and his pioneering application of economic theory to social questions extended to <a href="http://www.nber.org/chapters/c2970.pdf">the marriage market</a>. Mon, 05 May 2014 21:47:02 +0000 John Ydstie 60120 at http://wwno.org Positive April Jobs Report Blows Past Expectations http://wwno.org/post/positive-april-jobs-report-blows-past-expectations Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. U.S. employers were in a hiring mood in April. That's the takeaway from the government's monthly jobs report released today. It shows 288,000 jobs added to payrolls. That's the biggest monthly job growth in nearly two and a half years. Fri, 02 May 2014 20:21:00 +0000 John Ydstie 59913 at http://wwno.org Slow Growth For U.S. Economy, But Fed Plans Are Full Speed Ahead http://wwno.org/post/slow-growth-us-economy-fed-plans-are-full-speed-ahead The economy slowed sharply in the first quarter, with data released Wednesday showing that growth was barely positive. Federal Reserve policymakers wrapped up a meeting Wednesday with a statement saying the economy had actually picked up a bit in recent weeks. They voted unanimously to continue winding down their stimulus program. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 John Ydstie 59746 at http://wwno.org In March Jobs Report, Market Awakens From A Winter Swoon http://wwno.org/post/march-jobs-report-market-awakens-winter-swoon The U.S. economy added 192,000 jobs in March, according to data released this morning. The unemployment rate refused to budge, though, holding steady at 6.7 percent. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:45:00 +0000 John Ydstie 57807 at http://wwno.org Beyond The Fog Of Spin And Doubt: What Has ACA Achieved? http://wwno.org/post/beyond-fog-spin-and-doubt-what-has-aca-achieved Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block in Dallas.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel in Washington, where President Obama cheered the Affordable Care Act today.<p>PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA: Despite several lost weeks out of the gate because of problems with the website, 7.1 million Americans have now signed up for private insurance plans through these marketplaces.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF CHEERING)<p>SIEGEL: The president marked a milestone with that number. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 John Ydstie 57503 at http://wwno.org Health Care Law Helps Entrepreneurs Quit Their Day Jobs http://wwno.org/post/how-health-care-law-could-spur-new-businesses The Affordable Care Act — which many see creating challenges for businesses — could benefit a particular group of business people: entrepreneurs.<p>Joshua Simonson was reluctant to give up his job at a Portland, Ore., area grocery store, New Seasons Market, which he says had provided excellent health care for him and his family. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 20:59:00 +0000 John Ydstie 55675 at http://wwno.org