Renee Montagne http://wwno.org en An Afghan Village Of Drug Addicts, From Ages 10 To 60 http://wwno.org/post/afghan-village-drug-addicts-ages-10-60 Herat is one of the most graceful cities in Afghanistan. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 07:31:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 59708 at http://wwno.org Supreme Court Rules On Race-Based College Admissions http://wwno.org/post/supreme-court-rules-race-based-college-admissions Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne.<p>The Supreme Court this morning, upheld a ban on using racial preferences in admissions to the public universities of Michigan. The ban was enacted by referendum as an amendment to the state constitution in 2006 and struck down by a lower court. Today, the justices voted 6-to-2 to say the federal courts could not do that and the ban had to stand.<p>NPR's Nina Totenberg joins us now to talk more about this. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 59080 at http://wwno.org Afghanistan Is One Step Closer To Karzai's Successor http://wwno.org/post/afghanistan-one-step-closer-karzais-successor On Saturday, voters turned out in large numbers despite threats of Taliban violence. It will take weeks to learn who will become Afghanistan's next president. Hamid Karzai can't run for a third term Mon, 07 Apr 2014 09:14:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 57909 at http://wwno.org To Broaden Appeal, Afghan Candidates Make Surprising Choices http://wwno.org/post/broaden-appeal-afghan-candidates-make-surprising-choices As Afghans prepare to choose a new president Saturday, it's hard not to notice a striking contradiction.<p>The three leading candidates are all urbane, Westernized men inclined to wear suits and ties in public. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 18:39:11 +0000 Renee Montagne 57683 at http://wwno.org Man Finds More Than A Nest Egg At Flea Market http://wwno.org/post/man-finds-more-nest-egg-flea-market A scrap metal dealer bought a golden egg at a flea market for $14,000 and planned to melt it for a profit. But he discovered it was a Faberge egg — given by Alexander III to his empress in 1887. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:37:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56582 at http://wwno.org Will Sanctions Against Russia Work? http://wwno.org/post/will-sanctions-against-russia-work In Brussels on Thursday, EU leaders will discuss stronger sanctions against Russia. Juan Zarate, a senior adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, talks about their options. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:57:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56580 at http://wwno.org Fed Signals It Won't Tap Brakes Until Job Market Improves http://wwno.org/post/fed-signals-it-wont-tap-brakes-until-job-market-improves David Wessel of the Brookings Institution talks about Janet Yellen's first policy meeting and press conference since taking over as chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56570 at http://wwno.org BrusselKale: A Match Made In Heaven http://wwno.org/post/brusselkale-match-made-heaven A U.K. seed company has taken the leafy look and peppery taste of kale and added the flavor of Brussels sprouts. You can buy BrusselKale now in Ohio and Pennsylvania; it debuts nationally this fall. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 09:24:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56279 at http://wwno.org South Africans Engrossed By Pistorius Trial http://wwno.org/post/pistorius-trial-sparks-conversations-about-domestic-violence-race Host Renee Montagne talks to Erin Conway-Smith, southern Africa editor for GlobalPost, about the murder trial of Olympic hero Oscar Pistorius. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 08:44:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56267 at http://wwno.org Young Mathematicians Hope They've Calculated Winning NCAA Bracket http://wwno.org/post/young-mathematicians-hope-theyve-calculated-winning-ncaa-bracket Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Renee Montagne. Aspiring high school mathematicians gathered in New York for March Mathness. Even for kids who don't love sports, the professor leading the event told The Times there are a billion reasons to love brackets this year: Warren Buffett's reward for picking the winners for all 67 NCAA games. The math geeks are hoping linear algebra and complex computer codes will help them beat the odds: 9.2 quintrillion to one. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:27:00 +0000 Renee Montagne 56091 at http://wwno.org