Karen Grigsby Bates http://wwno.org en The Jury Is Still Out On Why O.J. Simpson Was Acquitted http://wwno.org/post/jury-still-out-why-oj-simpson-was-acquitted On June 12, 1994, the butchered bodies of Nicole Brown Simpson and Ronald Goldman were found on the front walkway of Simpson's condominium in Brentwood, an upscale section of Los Angeles. Within days, Brown's ex-husband, O.J. Simpson, was considered the prime suspect in the murder of both.<p>The year that followed was legendary in its cast of characters and legal maneuvering<em>. </em><em>The N-word. "If it does not fit, you must acquit." The dog howling in the night</em><em>.</em> Then, finally, the verdict.<p>Most people remember where they were when they heard it. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 12:54:58 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 64750 at http://wwno.org Former Model B. Smith Reveals Diagnosis Of Alzheimer's Disease http://wwno.org/post/former-model-b-smith-reveals-diagnosis-alzheimers-disease According to the Alzheimer's Association, more than 5 million Americans have the memory-robbing disease and African-Americans are <a href="http://www.alz.org/africanamerican/">twice as likely</a> as whites to develop the late-onset version of the illness.<p>Princess Yasmin Aga Kahn (daughter of film icon Rita Hayworth, who died of the disease) and actor David Hyde Pierce (whose father and grandfather died of Alzheimer's) have been in the forefront of advocating for more funds and research that might lead to a cure. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:53:57 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 64540 at http://wwno.org The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens http://wwno.org/post/late-walter-dean-myers-wrote-language-teens <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtlkXnf3-vY</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 63810 at http://wwno.org Honoring An Activist And Fashion Industry Role Model http://wwno.org/post/honoring-activist-and-fashion-industry-role-model The Council of Fashion Designers of America awards (the CFDA) are the fashion industry's equivalent of the Oscars: big, glittery, hugely prestigious. The red carpet before and after the ceremony is avidly watched. Unlike the Chambre Syndicale, which regulates France's couture and related industries, the CFDA is more of a reflector, an influencer — and, perhaps, a bellwether.<p>On Monday night, fashionable celebrities and celebrity designers walked the red carpet in front of Lincoln Center to celebrate the industry's best. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:31:56 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 63659 at http://wwno.org Remembering Sam Greenlee Through His Most Famous Book http://wwno.org/post/remembering-sam-greenlee-through-his-most-famous-book <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e14dahzb82g</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 22:09:08 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 62697 at http://wwno.org Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City http://wwno.org/post/condiment-detente-sriracha-plant-stay-california-city The Sriracha-slurping public no longer has to worry about hoarding bottles and bottles of the spicy stuff: There will be hot sauce tomorrow and for the foreseeable future. Sriracha will continue to be made in the state-of-the-art plant David Tran built in Irwindale, Calif. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:47:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 61675 at http://wwno.org Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' http://wwno.org/post/nostalgia-whats-been-lost-brown-v-board <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY4aOHTjGTM</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 09:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 60869 at http://wwno.org Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California http://wwno.org/post/sriracha-maker-says-factory-will-remain-california Sriracha hot sauce-maker Huy Fong Foods has been tussling with the City Council of Irwindale, Calif., near Los Angeles for months now over whether the factory's spicy smells harm its neighbors. There have been legal action and suggested fixes, but also pleas from other cities for the company to consider moving there.<p>David Tran, the CEO of Huy Fong, says he escaped from Vietnam almost 35 years ago to be free of the communist government there and its many intrusions.<p>"Today, I feel almost the same. Mon, 12 May 2014 07:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 60565 at http://wwno.org After 6 Decades As A Staple, 'Jet' Magazine Ends Print Run http://wwno.org/post/after-six-decades-staple-jet-mag-ends-its-print-run Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. An era in magazine history is closing. Chicago-based Johnson Publishing Co., or JPC, says "Jet" magazine is going digital. Some 700,000 subscribers will no longer see a print edition. It's with the exception of one special print issue a year. Wed, 07 May 2014 20:29:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 60286 at http://wwno.org Critics Find Little Humor In 'SNL' Writer's Jokes About Slavery http://wwno.org/post/critics-find-little-humor-snl-writers-jokes-about-slavery Almost 21 years ago, Whoopi Goldberg was honored at the New York Friars' Club. More than 3,000 people crowded into the New York Hilton to hear Goldberg roasted by her celebrity friends.<p>The Friars' is a show business charity, and their roasts are famous. Good taste and delicacy are usually checked in the cloak room, and after a series of predictably ribald remarks from his colleagues the honoree gets to lob back an in-kind response. Unlike some of the celebrity roasts we've see in this decade, the Friars roasts are not even recorded, let alone televised at a later date. Wed, 07 May 2014 17:06:31 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 60252 at http://wwno.org