Elizabeth Blair http://wwno.org en Bolshoi Director Makes First U.S. Visit Since Acid Attack http://wwno.org/post/bolshoi-director-recovered-acid-attack-begins-us-tour <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdahDCp5uww</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:05:34 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 58340 at http://wwno.org Colbert Plans To Take Up The Late Night Mic For CBS http://wwno.org/post/colbert-plans-take-late-night-mic-cbs Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The coveted spot held by David Letterman for 21 years will go to Stephen Colbert. CBS made the announcement today. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 58228 at http://wwno.org A Tiny Renoir, Stolen In The '50s, Finally Comes Home To Baltimore Museum http://wwno.org/post/tiny-renoir-stolen-50s-finally-comes-home-baltimore-museum It has the makings of a great mystery: artwork stolen from a prominent museum, plus the FBI, a beautiful woman and an intrepid reporter. But this isn't fiction; it's a strange, true tale of how a painting by Pierre-Auguste Renoir has now safely returned home to Baltimore.<p>At first it was known as the Renoir found at a West Virginia flea market — a woman took the painting to an auction house where they concluded that it was, indeed, <em>On the Shore of the Seine, </em>a Renoir that had been purchased in Paris in 1925 by American art collectors Herbert and Saidie May. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:19:27 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 57257 at http://wwno.org Fans Of 'The Good Wife' Rocked By [Spoiler Alert] http://wwno.org/post/fans-good-wife-rocked-spoiler-alert The CBS legal drama <em>The Good Wife</em> centers on smart, attractive Chicago lawyer Alicia Florrick. She's "the good wife" because she stood by her politician husband when he cheated on her.<p>But the show's most compelling story line has always been between Alicia and another lawyer, Will Gardner. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 56928 at http://wwno.org Online, Researcher Says, Teens Do What They've Always Done http://wwno.org/post/online-researcher-says-teens-do-what-theyve-always-done Researcher danah boyd is obsessed with how teenagers use the Internet. For the legions of adults who are worried about them, that's a good thing.<p>With a Ph.D from the University of California, Berkeley, and a masters from MIT, and as a senior researcher with Microsoft, boyd is something of a star in the world of social media. For her new book <em>It's Complicated</em>, she spent about eight years studying teenagers and how they interact online. She says she wrote the book in part to help parents, educators and journalists relax. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 20:00:41 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55926 at http://wwno.org Smithsonian Institution Gets A New Director http://wwno.org/post/smithsonian-institution-gets-new-director The new head of the Smithsonian Institution was announced Monday. <a href="http://www.cornell.edu/president/about.cfm">David Skorton</a> will leave his job as president of Cornell University to become the institution's 13th secretary since its founding in 1846.<p>Skorton becomes the first physician to lead the Smithsonian. He's a board-certified cardiologist and amateur <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UeuZY7uBSG4">jazz musician</a>. Most importantly for the Smithsonian, he's a skilled fundraiser. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 18:06:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55519 at http://wwno.org Shirley Temple And Bojangles: Two Stars, One Lifelong Friendship http://wwno.org/post/shirley-temple-and-bojangles-two-stars-one-lifelong-friendship When Shirley Temple Black died earlier this week, many of the tributes mentioned one of the most iconic scenes in American movie history: the staircase dance that Temple performed with Bill "Bojangles" Robinson in the 1935 movie <em>The Little Colonel. </em> They were the first interracial couple to dance onscreen. But their partnership was more than just a movie milestone.<p>He was in his 50s. She was 6. He called her darlin'; she called him Uncle Billy.<p>Robinson taught Temple his joyful, elegant tap-dancing routines. Sun, 09 Mar 2014 21:23:43 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 55373 at http://wwno.org For Top-Flight Animators, The Gag Is An Art All Its Own http://wwno.org/post/top-flight-animators-gag-art-all-its-own-0 Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>The Lego Movie opened last night in theaters across the country. It's latest example of the magic of animation, filmmakers who bring plastic to life, make animals talk and send toys singing and dancing across a big screen. But animators also love to hurl our most beloved characters over cliffs. They blow them up with dynamite, flatten them with speeding trains. Sat, 08 Feb 2014 15:20:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 53835 at http://wwno.org Valery Gergiev, The Powerful And Polarizing Maestro http://wwno.org/post/valery-gergiev-powerful-and-polarizing-maestro <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-dpVISqPy4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r71xgacQ3jI</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 05:04:25 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 53751 at http://wwno.org Philip Seymour Hoffman: An 'Uncanny' Actor Of Stage And Screen http://wwno.org/post/philip-seymour-hoffman-uncanny-actor-stage-and-screen Actor Philip Seymour Hoffman was <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/02/02/270599816/philip-seymour-hoffman-oscar-winner-found-dead-at-46">found dead on Sunday</a> in his Manhattan apartment. He was 46.<p>Hoffman was steeped in his profession — in film, on stage, in the spotlight and behind the scenes.<p>In 2005, he won the Oscar for best actor for his portrayal of Truman Capote. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 00:06:00 +0000 Elizabeth Blair 53337 at http://wwno.org