David Folkenflik http://wwno.org en Resignation Revives Doubts About Bloomberg China Coverage http://wwno.org/post/resignation-revives-doubts-about-bloomberg-china-coverage <em>Bloomberg News</em> finds itself under unwelcome scrutiny once again, as its parent company's chairman suggests that reporting on the corruption of China ruling elites isn't part of its core mission. A key China editor also revealed this week that he had quit <em>Bloomberg</em> in protest of a decision not to publish a subsequent investigation. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:52:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 56987 at http://wwno.org Joe McGinniss, Headline-Grabbing Author, Dies At 71 http://wwno.org/post/joe-mcginniss-headline-grabbing-author-dies-71 Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Journalist and bestselling author Joe McGinness has died. The author of classic books about politics and true crime was 71 years old. He suffered from complications due to inoperable prostate cancer. As NPR media correspondent David Folkenflik recalls, McGinness courted controversy throughout his career.<p>DAVID FOLKENFLIK, BYLINE: The concept of hypocrisy is woven through Joe McGinness' work, the chasm separating our public and private selves. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 20:12:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 55598 at http://wwno.org Out Of Portland, A Digital Ripple Hits U.S. News Media http://wwno.org/post/out-portland-digital-ripple-hits-us-news-media Owners of The Oregonian are shedding the identity of a daily print newspaper and emphasizing digital content instead. The shift has been received with both cheers and outrage nationwide. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:07:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 54898 at http://wwno.org Piers Morgan Shown The Door, While CNN Weighs Its Next Step http://wwno.org/post/piers-morgan-shown-door-while-cnn-weighs-its-next-step Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>CNN has announced that it's canceling "Piers Morgan Live." The primetime show has suffered from weak ratings and controversy. Piers Morgan is British and a former tabloid editor and reality show judge. He was named three years ago to replace Larry King as CNN's most prominent interviewer. NPR's media correspondent David Folkenflik joins us from our New York bureau to sort through this. And first, David, why ultimately did Morgan fail? Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:09:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 54714 at http://wwno.org Consumer Advocates Alarmed By $45 Billion Deal http://wwno.org/post/consumer-advocates-alarmed-45-billion-deal Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>Comcast is already the nation's biggest cable TV and Internet service provider. And now, it's trying to get a whole lot bigger. The company struck a deal to buy its top cable rival, Time Warner Cable. The price tag, $45 billion. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 21:07:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 54087 at http://wwno.org How Will NBC Cover Gay Issues During Sochi Olympics? http://wwno.org/post/how-will-nbc-cover-gay-issues-during-sochi-olympics The Winter Olympics next month, held in the Black Sea resort town of Sochi, Russia, should provide mesmerizing athletic spectacle on ice and snow. But each Olympics also affords a brief global platform for dissidents in host countries to get the attention of the world — primarily through the media. Sun, 19 Jan 2014 02:15:14 +0000 David Folkenflik 52341 at http://wwno.org News Or Ad? Online Advertisers Hope You'll Click To Find Out http://wwno.org/post/news-or-ad-online-advertisers-hope-youll-click-find-out <em>The New York Times</em> unveiled a major redesign of its digital offerings Wednesday. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:06:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 51667 at http://wwno.org OMG, BuzzFeed Is Investing In Serious News Coverage! Is It FTW? http://wwno.org/post/omg-buzzfeeds-investing-serious-news-coverage-it-ftw Anyone who has hankered for a list of 10 of the most life-affirming <a href="http://www.buzzfeed.com/summeranne/10-of-the-most-life-affirming-dog-rescue-stories-e" target="_blank">dog rescue stories</a> ever can rely on the social media site BuzzFeed.<p>That list of <a href="http://www.buzzfeed.com/briangalindo/11-classic-horror-films-that-should-have-never-been-remade" target="_blank">11 classic horror films</a> that should never have been remade? Wed, 04 Dec 2013 08:04:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 49363 at http://wwno.org Hacking Trial Puts U.K. Press, Politicos, Police On Defense http://wwno.org/post/british-hacking-trial-showcase-cozy-ties-between-media-political-elite Journalists who were once among the most powerful in the United Kingdom go on trial in London on Monday. Sun, 27 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 46732 at http://wwno.org Media Weighs Competition, Collaboration In Snowden Coverage http://wwno.org/post/media-weighs-competition-collaboration-snowden-coverage Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. News organizations pursuing the secrets leaked by former NSA contractor Edward Snowden have seesawed between rivalry and collaboration, resentment and achievement. As NPR's David Folkenflik reports, each outlet sought to tame a story larger than any of them.<p>DAVID FOLKENFLIK, BYLINE: Back in the spring, Edward Snowden contacted documentary filmmaker Laura Poitras. Her work on the consequences of the war on terror caught his eye. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 20:39:00 +0000 David Folkenflik 43739 at http://wwno.org