Carrie Johnson http://wwno.org en Justice Dept. Declines To Step Into Dispute Between CIA And Senators http://wwno.org/post/justice-dept-declines-step-dispute-between-cia-and-senators The Justice Department has declined to bring criminal charges against anyone at the CIA or the Senate Intelligence Committee, in a dispute over access to sensitive materials on enhanced interrogations. The power struggle relates to a long-running Senate probe over the mistreatment of detainees after Sept. 11. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 64228 at http://wwno.org No Criminal Charges In Senate-CIA Spat, Justice Department Says http://wwno.org/post/no-criminal-charges-senate-cia-spat-justice-department-says The Justice Department has declined to bring criminal charges against anyone at the CIA or the Senate Intelligence Committee in a dispute over access to documents about the enhanced interrogation program the U.S. deployed against detainees after the attacks of Sept. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:32:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 64218 at http://wwno.org In Oslo, Attorney General Warns Syria May Be A Cradle Of Terrorism http://wwno.org/post/oslo-attorney-general-warns-syria-may-be-cradle-terrorism In a speech in Oslo, U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder urged European partners to do more to find and disrupt plans of would-be terrorists who head to Syria — and, once trained, might return to the West. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 64089 at http://wwno.org Case Against Benghazi Suspect Is Complex, Justice Department Says http://wwno.org/post/case-against-benghazi-suspect-complex-justice-department-says The Justice Department says its case against a man accused in the 2012 attacks on a U.S. diplomatic compound in Benghazi, Libya, is unusually complex and involves "novel questions of fact and law."<p>In a Washington, D.C., federal courtroom Tuesday, Assistant U.S. Attorney Michael DiLorenzo said the government had already begun sharing sensitive documents with defense attorneys. But many of the hundreds of people interviewed by the FBI remain overseas, and many documents are either top secret or in Arabic, or both. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 18:27:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 64078 at http://wwno.org Benghazi Suspect Spends A Day In Court http://wwno.org/post/benghazi-suspect-spends-day-court Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Well, now the latest on the Benghazi case - the man accused in the attack on the U.S. diplomatic post in Libya, which killed four Americans, appeared in federal court. At the end of a brief hearing, a judge ordered Ahmed Abu Khattala to remain in federal custody. And prosecutors outlined some new details about the violent events that night in September 2012, and of Khattala's alleged role in them. NPR justice correspondent Carrie Johnson was in the courtroom and she's here with us now to talk about the case. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 20:34:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63767 at http://wwno.org Justice Department Renews Focus On Homegrown Terrorists http://wwno.org/post/justice-department-renews-focus-homegrown-terrorists The U.S. has devoted billions of dollars to fighting terrorism overseas in the years since the Sept. 11 attacks.<p>The Justice Department is increasingly warning about the danger posed by radicals on American soil, and U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder wants prosecutors and FBI agents to devote more attention to the threat.<p>Nearly two decades ago, after the Oklahoma City bombing killed 168 people, the Justice Department launched a group to fight domestic terrorism.<p>That group was set to meet on Sept. 11, 2001, but the meeting got canceled and the idea shelved as the U.S. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 14:46:05 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63626 at http://wwno.org Supreme Court Deals A Blow To Unions, But It's Not Quite Mortal http://wwno.org/post/supreme-court-deals-blow-unions-its-not-quite-mortal Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Two big decisions on the last day of the Supreme Court's term today. In one, the justices limited the mandate for insurance coverage of contraception in the new healthcare law. We'll have more on that elsewhere on the program. Also the Court handed a defeat to public employee unions, ruling that home care aides in Illinois may not be forced to pay fees to support collective bargaining. Still, the 5 to 4 decision, along ideological lines, could have been even worse for big labor. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63564 at http://wwno.org Report Questions U.S. Policy On Overseas Drone Strikes http://wwno.org/post/report-questions-us-policy-overseas-drone-strikes U.S. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 04:03:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63283 at http://wwno.org Murdered Voting Advocate's Brother Wants Protections Back http://wwno.org/post/murdered-voting-advocates-brother-wants-protections-back One year ago, the Supreme Court threw out a key section of the 1965 Voting Rights Act. The law gave the federal government a kind of veto power over voting arrangements in states with a history of discrimination. Now, without those protections, civil rights activists say many states are moving polling places and enacting laws that disproportionately hurt minorities.<p>This week, they're turning to Congress for help. Consider David Goodman, who stands on a patch of grass outside the U.S. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 09:04:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63190 at http://wwno.org In 'Drone Memo,' A Step Toward Transparency On Targeting Americans http://wwno.org/post/drone-memo-step-toward-transparency-targeting-americans On Monday, a federal court made public a long-secret memo that lays out the Obama administration's legal justification for killing an American citizen in a drone strike. The memo, which concerns the 2011 killing of Anwar Al-Awlaki, says that the man presented an imminent threat to the United States. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 63095 at http://wwno.org